Price: £15.00
Format: CD
Artist: Michael Shrieve
CatNo: 7D2402
Tags (click for related products):
Michael_Shrieve Drums_of_Compassion CD Santana
Drums of Compassion - released on Trey Gunn’s innovative 7D Media label - is a testament to Michael Shrieve’s artistic journey, encapsulating over fifty years of musical exploration.
Jack DeJohnetteZakir HussainAirto MoreiraJeff Greinke and Trey Gunn also guest, with their collective genius creating a fusion of intriguing atmospheres and dynamic percussive elements.
Inspired by the Dalai Lama's call for a Time of Compassion, with a nod to the title of Babatunde Olatunji's classic album from 1959, Drums of Passion (one of the first records to popularise African Music to the Western World), the album is graced with an Introduction Vocal Incantation by Olatunji himself and acts as a bridge between eras, cultures, and sounds, embodying the spirit of unity and the transformative power of music.
1. The Call of Michael Olatunji 
2. On the Path to the Healing Waters
3. As Above, So Below
4. The Euphoric Pandiero of Airto Moriera
5. The Fierce Energy of Love
6. Oracle
7. The Breath of Human Kindness
8. Zakir Hussain
9. Hejira
Produced by Michael Shrieve and Eric Oz
Recorded by Eric Oz at Glenn Sound, and Ironornj Studio, Robert Lang at Robert Lang Studios, Rik Parashar at London Bridge Studios and Don Gunn at The Office. All in Seattle, WA
Mixed by Don Gunn and Eric Oz
Mastered by Don Gunn
Album designed by Christo Downs, cover illustration by Bruno Borges