Price: £10.99
Format: CD
Artist: John Foxx
Tags (click for related products):
John Foxx The Arcades Project CD
2023's The Arcades Project is John Foxx’s first solo piano album. 
Possessing a fresh sense of wonder and timeless beauty, the album provides a dramatic contrast to the raging analogue noise of Foxx's last major work, Howl (by John Foxx And The Maths).    
The half-light, atmospheric flow of the album recalls the artist’s own series of short stories, The Quiet Man (published by Essential Works in 2020). However, as Foxx writes in an essay to accompany the album, there’s another text - by Walter Benjamin - that provides some of the inspiration, as well as the title for the new record. Foxx explains how he first came across the book, ‘when I was at art school, in the mid 1960s a number of obscure books were discussed and dog-eared copies often circulated. Among these ‘The Arcades Project’, by Walter Benjamin, was especially tantalising.  It was often referred to, but its existence seemed no more than a rumour. In those days before the internet,  you could never find a copy. Of course, all that elusiveness and mystery lent the book a legendary status.” 
He continues: “The book itself is a sort of stroll through new ideas emerging from the city life of Paris in the 19th and early 20th century. It was also concerned with what the French poet Baudelaire had termed  flâneurism. The flâneur enjoys walking randomly, drifting with the tides on the streets, taking great pleasure in a dreamlike state of coincidentalism - being open to all the unfolding daily events of a great modern city.”
1. A Formal Arrangement 
2. Floral Arithmetic 
3. Daylight Ghost
4. In All Your Glory
5. Last Golden Light 
6. Momentary Paris 
7. Forgotten In Manhattan 
8. The Sea Inside 
9. Lovers And Strangers 
10. Starlit Summer Night
11. Coincidentalism
12. This Evening