For most people the start of Michael Jackson's rise to superstardom was in early 1970 when the Jackson Five's "I Want You Back" gave Motown Records yet another international hit group, following in the footsteps of The Temptations, The Supremes and The Four Tops.
However, the five brothers had been together as the Jackson Five since 1964 and in 1967 they made their first recordings for Gary, Indiana label, Steeltown Records, produced by Gordon Keith. Their first single "Big Boy" / "You've Changed" on Steeltown and now very rare and collectible, was released in January 1968. The brothers also cut another single for the label "We Don't Have To Be Over 21" / "Jam Session". This album features all these tracks plus versions of classic Soul hits including "The Tracks of My Tears", "My Girl" and "Saturday Night at the Movies".
This is a unique and historic album, essential for all Michael Jackson fans interested in the evolution of his unique sound, containing as it does his first ever studio recordings with his brothers. These are now available in the cleanest and clearest versions released to date and form the first chapter in the story of the King of Pop.
1. Big Boy
2. We Don't Have To Be Over 21 (To Fall In Love)
3. You've Changed
4. Some Girls Want Me For A Lover (aka Michael The Lover)
5. My Girl
6. Under The Boardwalk
7. Saturday Night At The Movies
8. The Tracks Of My Tears
9. Soul Jerk
10. Monologue
11. Jam Session (Part One)
12. Jam Session (Part Two)