Price: £13.00
Format: CD
Artist: The Durutti Column
CatNo: FBN201CD
Tags (click for related products):
The Durutti Column Sex and Death 2CD Vini Reilly
An expanded 2021 2CD edition of Sex and Death, produced by Stephen Street.
The 11th studio album by The Durutti Column (Vini Reilly and Bruce Mitchell), guest performances come from John Metcalfe, Ruth-Ann Boyle, Martin Jackson (Magazine) and Peter Hook.
Originally in 1995, the album has now been remastered with several bonus tracks. Features liner notes including interview material with Vini.
"The music of Durutti Column is always a trip into Utopian genius." - Total Guitar
The writing and recording of Sex And Death closed an uncertain period for Vini Reilly and the group following the collapse of Factory Records in 1992. Factory founder Tony Wilson remained in post as manager of the band, but Sex And Death would be the band's last album with producer Stephen Street, famed for his work with Morrissey, The Smiths and Blur.
Writer and master guitarist Vini Reilly remained philosophical. “People say the Durutti Column is this or that. I don’t care, so long as we make good music. There’s screaming feedback on some tracks, heavy metal guitar, Spanish picking. It’s not just this ethereal trip. Don’t listen to the form, never listen to the form. Listen to the content.”
6 of the 10 bonus tracks on CD2 were retrieved from a long-lost DAT demo tape located in Tony Wilson’s personal archive. The other 4 are outtakes from Sex and Death previously available as a free download (Fac 2.26) via the Durutti Column website.
Re-mastered by Peter Beckmann at Technology Works. 
1. Anthony
2. The Rest of My Life
3. For Colette
4. The Next Time
5. Beautiful Lies
6. My Irascible Friend
7. Believe In Me
8. Fermina
9. Where I Should Be
10. Fado
11. Madre Mio
12. Blue Period
1. Believe In Me (Mix 1)
2. You Mess Me Up
3. My Only Love (aka Duet)
4. Believe In Me (Mix 2)
5. Picking Guitar for the Shrimp
6. Get Me to the Beat on Time
7. Jumble Drums, Growling Bass and the Whammy Bar
8. For Cameron de la Isla
9. War Torn
10. The Celestial Bar