Price: £38.99
Format: Boxset
Artist: Stomu Yamashta
CatNo: ECLEC72811
Tags (click for related products):
Stomu Yamashta Seasons Boxset
The first ever box set celebrating the remarkable work of Stomu Yamashta for Island Records between 1972 and 1976.
Music crossing from Fusion to Ambient and beyond, featuring Steve Winwood, Klaus Schulze, Al Di Meola, Hugh Hopper, Gary Boyle, Morris Pert, Paul Buckmaster and more.
7 x CDs in a clamshell box including Floating Music (1972), The Man From The East (1973), Freedom Is Frightening (1973), One By One (1974), Raindog (1975) and the beloved Go (1976) and Go…Live From Paris (1976).
Born in Kyoto, Japan, Yamashta studied music at Kyoto University and Berklee College of Music. His athletic and virtuoso percussion style came to prominence in the early 1970s when his work with the Red Buddha Theatre brought him to Europe. He teamed up with percussionist Morris Pert and members of his band Come To The Edge to record the album ‘Floating Music’ for Island Records in 1972. This was followed in 1973 by the release of the soundtrack album ‘The Man From The East’, which also featured Morris Pert and keyboard player Peter Robinson.
Later the same year Yamashta formed the band East Wind with Gary Boyle (guitar), Hugh Hopper (bass) and Brian Gascoigne (keyboards) and recorded the excellent jazz rock album ‘Freedom Is Frightening’. This was followed in 1974 by another soundtrack work, ‘One By One’, also featuring a fine ensemble of acclaimed jazz and rock musicians. The 1975 album ‘Raindog’was met with critical acclaim and featured vocal contributions from singer Murray Head.
1976 would see Yamashta’s work reach an ever wider public thanks to his contribution to the soundtrack of the film The Man Who Fell To Earth (starring David Bowie) and the release of his concept album ‘Go’. The outstanding record saw him assemble a cast of outstanding musicians such as Steve Winwood (vocals, keyboards), Michael Shrieve (drums), Al Di Meola (guitar), Pat Thrall (guitar), Klaus Schulze (synthesisers) and Rosko Gee (bass). Featuring stunning arrangements by Paul Buckmaster, the album’s fusion of rock, jazz and electronics was greeted with much acclaim. The success of ‘Go’, led to a series of live concerts in Europe featuring the musicians who had appeared on the album. A concert at the Palais des Sports in Paris in June 1976 was recorded and released later that year.
Floating Music
1 Poker Dice
2 Keep In Lane
3 Xingu
4 One Way
The Man From The East
1 Scoop
2 Ana Orori
3 What A Way To Live In Modern Times
4 My Little Partner
5 Mandala
6 Memory Of Hiroshima
7 Mountain Pass
Freedom Is Frightening
1 Freedom Is Frightening
2 Rolling Nuns
3 Pine On The Horizon
4 Wind Words
One By One
1 One By One / Hey Man / One By One (reprise)
2 Black Flame
3 Rain Race
4 Tangerine Beach
5 Superstar / Loxcycle
6 Nurburgring
7 Seasons
8 Accident
9 At Tangerine Beach
1 Dunes
2 33 1/3
3 Rainsong
4 The Monks Song
5 Shadows
6 Ishi
1 Solitude
2 Nature
3 Air Over
4 Crossing The Line
5 Man Of Leo
6 Stellar
7 Space
8 Space Requiem
9 Space Song
10 Carnival
11 Ghost Machine
12 Surf Spin
13 Time Sphere
14 Winner / Loser
Go… Live From Paris
1 Space Song
2 Carnival
3 Wind Spin
4 Ghost Machine
5 Surf Spin
6 Time Is Here
7 Winner / Loser
8 Solitude
9 Nature
10 Air Voice
11 Crossing The Line
12 Man Of Leo
13 Stellar
14 Space Requiem