Price: £29.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Steven Wilson
Tags (click for related products):
Steven_Wilson Grace_For_Drowning Double_vinyl Transmission
Steven Wilson’s third solo album Grace For Drowning (2011) available as a double LP in gatefold on the Transmission label.
Originally released in 2011, Grace For Drowning is the second solo album from Wilson. An experimental and eclectic record, it built on the artistic inroads he forged with 2009’s exceptionally well-received Insurgentes. It is a modern homage to the late 60s and early 70s spirit of using the album as an artist's primary means of expression; combining jazz, classical and psychedelic music to create "journeys in sound". 
‘For me the golden period for music was the late sixties and early seventies, when the album became the primary means of artistic expression, when musicians liberated themselves from the 3 minute pop song format, and started to draw on jazz and classical music especially, combining it with the spirit of psychedelia to create “journeys in sound”. So without being retro, ‘my album is a kind of homage to that spirit. There’s everything from [Ennio] Morricone-esque film themes to choral music to piano ballads to a 23 minute progressive jazz–inspired piece’ – Steven Wilson
"An immersive, ambitious project that demands repeated spins." - MOJO
"Prog Rock wrung dry of nostalgia, perfect not for drowning but immersion." - Rolling Stone  
1. Grace For Drowning
2. Sectarian
3. Deform To Form A Star
1. No Part Of Me
2. Postcard
3. Raider Prelude
4. Remainder The Black Dog
1. Raider II
1. Belle De Jour
2. Index
3. Track One
4. Like Dust I Have Cleared From My Eye