Price: £11.35
Format: CD
Artist: Marine
Availability: 23-02-2024
CatNo: TWI043CD
Tags (click for related products):
Marine Same_Beat CD
A Les Disques du Crepuscule anthology of work by artful Brussels post-punk-funk band Marine - think The Pop Group, A Certain Ratio, Defunkt etc - plus six brand new studio tracks.
CD edition with 2023 master.
Formed in late 1980 around charismatic frontman Marc Desmare together with musicians from infamous punk band Mad Virgins, Marine made an early splash supporting Orange Juice and Josef K at the legendary Plan K venue, Postcard Records afterwards keeping tabs on the Sound of Young Brussels. 
Snapped up instead by chic boutique label Les Disques du Crepuscule, Marine released their infectious debut single ‘Life In Reverse’ in April 1981, attracting rave reviews in the Belgian and UK press, reaching the giddy heights of #6 on the NME indie chart, and even being invited to record a radio session for John Peel - a first for a Belgian band.
Alas, artistic differences caused the fast-rising group to part ways in a London studio, when half the band quit to form pop-funk sophisticates Allez Allez. With new Marines on board, Marc and bassist Paul Delnoy went on to release two further singles (‘How to Keep Cool’ and ‘Same Beat’), gigged extensively around France and the Low Countries, and played a headline show at The Venue in London. ‘Fine, disciplined and gleeful rhythm workers,’ enthused Chris Bohn in NME. ‘A happy, contagiously clean aural equivalent to a Serge Clerc cartoon.’
Alas by the summer of 1982 Marine were all washed up, with Marc going on direct films and documentaries as Marco Laguna. Four decades later, finally heeding desperate pleas from Crepuscule that his sensational first band never cut an album, Marc has written and recorded another 6 remarkably authentic sounding Marine songs with help from like-minded friends in Brussels and Paris, once more drawing on a heady mix of supercool funkabilly, jazz and soundtrack influences.
‘It was an incredibly strange experience to revisit my past,’ says Marc, ‘but definitely fun. I’m glad, and I’m proud!’
The cover art is by LDDC art director Benoit Hennebert and based on the ‘Same Beat’ single sleeve from 1982.
1. Life In Reverse
2. Animal In My Head
3. Same Beat
4. How to Keep Cool
5. Marenas Bop
6. Scrub
7. A Proposito dei Napoli
2023 tracks
8. Le Glissement Progressif du Plaisir
9. Jean-Luc Godard
10. Stretto Bongo
11. Funkabilly
12. Born to Love
13. I’m Glad, I’m Free  
14. Remember Caribou
15. Kiss My Knee
16. Life In Reverse (demo version)
17. Dim the Light