Price: £30.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Jethro Tull
CatNo: 0190296688270
Tags (click for related products):
Jethro Tull Ian Anderson Plays The Orchestra 2LP
Ian Anderson Plays The Orchestral Jethro Tull includes a selection of JT classics performed with orchestra and band.
Available as a double black vinyl edition - containing the concert in its entirety on vinyl for the first time - the album was originally released in 2005 on CD and DVD, 
Featuring IA alongside the Frankfurt Neue Philharmonie Orchestra - conducted by John O’Hara- the line-up also includes Florian Opahle (acoustic and electric guitars), David Goodier (bass and glockenspiel) and James Duncan (drums and percussion).
Speaking in 2005, Ian Anderson said about playing with the orchestra: “The core band who play with me on these concerts are chosen for their skills in varied musical disciplines. They have to cover, not only the different styles and nuances of any of my and Jethro Tull’s music over the many years, but also need to have a good understanding of the complete workings of the orchestral settings we employ. The various orchestras with whom I have played since 2001 all have their separate personalities. Some have worked in the whacky world of “crossover” Classics with people like me before. Some have not and thus face a musical interrogation at rehearsal as we discovery our mutual strengths and failings. But the whole point is to revel in the little tensions, to explore and exploit the skills and excellence of playing and try ultimately not to get too picky about phrasing and timing when the performance depends on heart, soul and mutual support.”
1. Eurology
2. Calliandra Shade
3. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
4. Up The Pool
5. We Five (Three) Kings
6. Life Is A Long Song
7. In The Grip Of Stronger Stuff
1. Wond’ring Aloud
2. Griminelli’s Lament
3. Cheap Day Return
4. Mother Goose
5. Bourée
6. Boris Dancing
7. Living In The Past
1. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
2. My God
3. Aqualung
1. Pavane
2. Budapest
3. Locomotive Breath