Price: £2.99
Format: CD
Artist: Various Artists
Tags (click for related products):
Charly Records - 40 Years - Vol Various Artists cd
Regarded as one of the major purveyors of high-quality reissues and still proudly delivering timeless recordings, 2014 sees Charly Records celebrate forty years of offering its unique take on music history.
Presenting a panoramic sweep of the core elements of contemporary music - the best in Blues, Jazz, Funk, primal Rock and Roll, Rockabilly, Soul, Reggae, Rock, Pop, Gospel, Charly was the first labels to recognise the value of music's past. In the mid-Seventies, their pioneering work on the legendary Memphis label Sun Records, made influential titles by Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash and others readily available, many for the first time. Charly also proved that archive music could have contemporary currency - their 1982 cassette-only compilation, Charly Pocket Jukebox, was an instant sell-out and introduced music fans to the likes of Nina Simone, whose 'My Baby Just Cares For Me' became a UK Top 5 in 1987. 
Following in that great tradition and proving that Charly has lost none of its passion for delivering superb music in the decades since, this hit-laden 15-track sampler CD - which features Soul greats Bobby Womack and Curtis Mayfield, distaff chart-toppers Nina Simone and The Shangri-Las, rock'n'rollers Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins, George Clinton's Funkadelic and 1960s Psych legends The 13th Floor Elevators - provides an excellent overview of the rich and diverse music which has come to define Charly.
1. Across 110th Street [3:49]
2. Superfly [3:52]
3. Itchycoo Park [2:48]
4. Out Of Time [3:33]
5. For Your Love [2:28]
6. You`re Gonna Miss Me [2:31]
7. Leader Of The Pack [2:52]
8. My Baby Just Cares For Me [3:35]
9. Jungle Rock [2:42]
10. I Walk The Line [2:44]
11. Blue Suede Shoes [2:14]
12. Great Balls Of Fire [1:52]
13. Boom, Boom [2:36]
14. The Sun Is Shining [2:01]
15. One Nation Under A Groove [7:26]