Price: £25.00
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Mott The Hoople
CatNo: SMALP1158
Tags (click for related products):
Mott the Hoople live at hammersmith 1973 double vinyl

Featuring a full live set from Mott The Hoople on double vinyl, Live At Hammersmith 1973 is one of the best live recordings in Mott's archive.

Featuring six tracks on vinyl for the first time including the rare 16 minute ‘Medley’ as a bonus track.

A 2LP set on 180gm vinyl in a gatefold featuring photos from the time, printed inner bags with liner notes written by MtH authority Campbell Devine and an 84x56cm 1973 UK Tour replica poster.



Live at Hammersmith 1973 is probably the best live recording in Mott the Hoople’s archive. The group was riding on the crest of a wave at the time, parading their hit singles "All the Young Dudes" and "Roll Away the Stone", and promoting their critically acclaimed Top 10 album, MOTT.

Mott The Hoople played two shows at the Hammersmith Odeon on 14 December 1973 and the second set became famous in rock folklore when theatre staff and stewards grappled with invading fans, while Mott played on and sought to defy the venue’s “curfew.” The British press raved about “The Battle of Hammersmith” and gave the show front-page headlines including – ‘MOTT RIOT’ and ‘ROCK ’N’ ROLL IS HERE TO STAY’! “Sensational; swashbuckling; pandemonium; punches and imprecations thrown on a crowded stage” – SOUNDS review of the Hoople’s Hammersmith extravaganza certainly helped to encapsulate the atmosphere, adrenaline and aggro attached to one of rock music’s most incredible shows.

Released following acclaimed 2018 and 2019 Mott reunion concerts, this vinyl captures the fire and brimstone of the band’s 1973 show and their battling finale, as they conclude a memorable night with a scorching version of "Walkin' with a Mountain". Featuring sparkling renditions of "Sweet Jane", "Sucker" and Mott’s memorable, fifteen-minute “Deadly Medley”, the passion, the power and the glory are all here – six of the nine cuts appearing on vinyl for the first time.


1. Jupiter (from 'The Planets') [0:45]
2. Drivin' Sister [3:51]
3. Sucker [6:03]
4. Sweet Jane [5:10]
1. Sweet Angeline [6:46]
2. Rose [4:33]
3. Roll Away The Stone [3:31]
1. All The Young Dudes [3:52]
2. Medley: Jerkin' Crocus, One Of The Boys, Rock And Roll Queen, Get Back, Whole Lotta Shakin' Violence [16:16]
1. Walkin' With A Mountain [9:09]
2. Medley: Jerkin' Crocus, Sucker, Violence [4:20]