Price: £9.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Barren Earth
CatNo: VILELP339
Tags (click for related products):
The Devils Resolve Barren Earth Vinyl
Limited vinyl edition of the new studio outing from the Finnish maestros of Progressive and Folk influenced Death/Doom Metal.
With a wealth of experience from internationally renowned acts, from former members of Finnish metallers Amorphis, to current members of Swallow the Sun, Moonsorrow, and Kreator, Barren Earth presents progressive and folk textured death/doom metal of the highest order.
Barren Earth originally appeared in 2009 with the' Our Twilight' EP, followed quickly by their debut album, The Curse Of The Red River (2010) on Peaceville. Both releases met with a rapturous reception from fans and critics alike, including awards for best new band and best album. 
Barren Earth has already played many shows, not only in its native country of Finland, but in continental Europe, and most importantly, in North America, where as a part of the Finnish Metal Tour 2, they played 28 shows alongside countrymen Ensiferum and Finntroll.
Mixed by Dan Swan (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, 'The Devil's Resolve' continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper: what was brutal on the first release is now ultra so. Likewise, what was proggy earlier is now extra so.
Never a band which likes to travel on the middle of the road, Barren Earth take you on a journey through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70's prog lunacy, pastoral passages and bagpipes and then returning back to full-on metal mayhem again. 
Artwork comes courtesy of renowned artist Paul Romano (Mastodon).
Side 1:
1. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
2. The Rains Begin
3. Vintage Warlords
4. As It Is Written
Side 2:
1. The Dead Exiles
2. Oriental Pyre
3. White Field
4. Where All Stories End