Price: £7.00
Format: Download mp3
Artist: Andy Partridge
Tags (click for related products):
MP3 Download Powers Andy Partridge APE XTC Richard Powers
12 unique instrumentals created by Andy Partridge in order to evoke the visionary artwork of Sci-Fi paperback legend, Richard M Powers.
Be warned, these are not songs, but sound pieces inspired by the works of artist Richard M Powers, who in the 1950s was one of the most important Science Fiction artists of his time. Prolific to the point of producing more than 1500 cover and interior illustrations, the world of the SF paperback had been truly informed by "the Powers style".
Over the last year Andy has been sculpting and squeezing sounds in his shed to put together a collection of pieces linked to his experiences as a child where he would literally disappear into the book jacket art of Mr Powers.
Every week or so, a young Andy would go to his local library and loan out three books, sometimes the same ones, sometimes different ones. He wouldn't read them, but instead stare intensely at the jacket illustrations and drift into these fearful future worlds, hearing unusual soundscapes and noises. In the last couple of years Andy found out that the vast majority of illustrations he liked were done by the same artist, one Richard M powers. Finally he had a name to link with his experience.
The pieces that he has recorded are an attempt to capture the sounds that played in his schoolboy head when he would stare at the cover paintings. Thus these are not songs, or even what the majority of people would call 'music', but are aural sculptures if you will, that are meant to marry in your head with the fluid and often frightening vistas that Powers would portray in paint.
1. Track 1 (Earthlight) (2:11)
2. Track 2 (Dissolver) (2:24)
3. Track 3 (Outpost) (4:15)
4. Track 4 (Pebble) (3:29)
5. Track 5 (Transmitter) (2:46)
6. Track 6 (Hothouse) (4:15)
7. Track 7 (Star) (3:00)
8. Track 8 (Palace) (2:!4)
9. Track 9 (Monitors) (2:30)
10. Track 10 (Rogue) (2:08)
11. Track 11 (Needle) (2:52)
12. Track 12 (Darkness) (4:53)
Recorded in the shed, 2009-2010.
Performed by Andy Partridge.
Originally released on 19 July, 2010.