Price: £14.99 £4.99
Format: Book/Magazine
Artist: John Van der Kiste
CatNo: 9781789521627
Tags (click for related products):
John Van der Kiste Mott The Hoople and Ian Hunter Book
A comprehensive account of the recorded output of one of the UK’s finest artists of the 1970s and beyond.
When Hereford group Silence teamed up with songwriter Ian Hunter in 1969 to form a group that aimed to be a cross between Bob Dylan, the Rolling Stones and Procol Harum, Mott The Hoople rapidly became one of Britain’s most popular live acts, even as a major hit single and album initially proved elusive.
In 1972, disillusioned and exhausted, they split before being encouraged to reform by David Bowie and finding immediate chart success with a song he gave them, All the Young Dudes. After two years of hits and internal conflicts, Hunter left and enjoyed a chequered solo career that has lasted to this day, initially in partnership with guitarist Mick Ronson (until his death in 1993). The rest of the group subsequently shortened their name to Mott and then British Lions, the latter a collaboration with former Medicine Head front man John Fiddler.
John Van der Kiste has published over seventy books, mostly on historical biography and music, including titles about The Beatles, Jeff Lynne/ELO, Led Zeppelin, Lindisfarne and Steve Winwood. He has also reviewed books and records for the local and national press and fanzines and co-founded and edited the 70s fanzine Keep on Rockin’. He has performed with groups, run mobile discos, and written booklet notes for CD reissues from EMI and other labels. An occasional musician and songwriter, he also co-wrote one track on Riff Regan's Milestones (2015) and played harmonica on London's The Hell for Leather Mob (2020).