Price: £11.99
Format: cd
Artist: The Bubble Puppy
CatNo: SNAX603CD deleted
Tags (click for related products):
a gathering of promises the bubble puppy cd
A special digi-book edition of The Bubble Puppy's incendiary International Artists debut release.
Features an informative 16-page booklet.
International Artists Records produced some of the most innovative records to come out of Texas's thriving rock scene of the late Sixties. One of the most influential independent record companies of its day, it has gained cult status over the years amongst fans of prime American psychedelic and garage rock. 
The Bubble Puppy were International Artists's second biggest act in terms of chart action after The 13th Floor Elevators and  enjoyed a degree of commercial success with their distinct high-energy, hippy rock-pop sound and look. Formed in San Antonio in 1967, their first 45 waxing, the brilliant Hendrix-inspired 'Hot Smoke & Sassafras', combined hard rock with fresh vocal harmonies and reached #14 in the U.S. charts in March 1969. 
The resultant album from that year, 'A Gathering Of Promises', featured more of the same raw, garage-psych sound and was equally strong. Somewhat removed from the deep acid psych of the Elevator's Easter Everywhere or The Golden Dawn's 'Power Plant IA albums',  it is highly enjoyable album and stands as one of the label's most refined rock efforts.
This edition of the album includes both sides of the group?s four singles as bonus tracks, four of which were not on the original album, whilst two of the other sides were different mixes to the album versions.
The accompanying 16-page illustrated booklet features unique quotes about the band, the music and the times from original band member David Fore, who was specially interviewed for this release.
1. Hot Smoke And Sasafrass
2. Todd's Tune
3. I've Got To Reach You
4. Lonely 
5. A Gathering Of Promises
6. Hurry Sundown
7. Elizabeth
8. It's Safe To Say
9. Road To St. Stephen's
10. Beginning
Bonus tracks :
11. If I Had A Reason 
12. Days Of Our Time
13. Thinkin' About Thinkin'
14. What Do You See
15. Hot Smoke And Sasafrass 
16. Lonely 
17. Hurry Sundown (Remix) 
18. Beginning (Remix)