Price: £14.99

Format: boxset
Artist: The Yardbirds
CatNo: SNAJ736CDdeleted
Tags (click for related products):
The Yardbirds The Yardbirds Story 4CD Boxset
'Anyone interested in The Yardbirds will want this... Immaculately presented 4CD box set from seminal 60s act. Includes lavish 52 page booklet by manager Giorgio Gomelsky.'
***** UNCUT
The Yardbirds were one of the world's most successful and influential rock groups of the 60's, launching the careers of two of rock's greatest guitarists and paving the way for heavy rock with their pioneering blend of blues, rock and psychedelia.
Between 1963 and 1966 the group were managed by the legendary Giorgio Gomelsky, The Rolling Stones' first manager and a leading figure on the burgeoning R&B scene of the day. 
Spread over four generously filled discs, this set contains every released recording The Yardbirds made under Gomelsky's mentorship. In addition to several rarities and alternate takes, it also contains outtakes from two recording sessions from 1966, which give a fascinating insight into the group's creative process in the studio.
Including their four smash top ten hits, 'Shapes Of Things', 'For Your Love', 'Still I'm Sad' and 'Heart Full Of Soul', the set traces the group's development from hesitant Chicago R&B copyists with Eric Clapton on lead guitar to the swaggering, ear-bending psychedelic rock of the Jeff Beck-fronted line-up. Digitally remastered from the best available audio sources, these seminal recordings have never sounded better.
Housed in deluxe digipak format and meticulously researched and compiled by Yardbird's authority Phil Cohen, who contributes his own track-by-track commentary, the set's 52-page, lavishly illustrated booklet includes extensive notes by Giorgio Gomelsky. As well as providing a fascinating insider's view of the group and its music, they vividly evoke the culture and excitement of the Swinging Sixties.
Disc One - 1963 - R&B Roots:
1. Smokestack Lightning
2. You Can't Judge A Book By Looking At The Cover
3. Let It Rock
4. I Wish You Would
5. Who Do You Love
6. Honey In Your Hips
7. Bye, Bye, Bird
8. Mister Downchild
9. The River Rhine
10. 23 Hours Too Long
11. A Lost Care
12. Pontiac Blues
13. Take It Easy, Baby
14. Out On The Water Coast
15. Western Arizona
16. Take It Easy, Baby
17. Do The Weston
18. Baby, What's Wrong.
Disc Two - 1964 - Early Studio & At The Marquee: 
1. Boom, Boom
2. Honey In Your Hips
3. Talkin' 'Bout You
4. I Wish You Would (Demo)
5. A Certain Girl (Demo)
6. Slow Walk
7. Highway 69
8. My Little Cabin
9. Too Much Monkey Business
10. Got Love If You Want It
11. Smokestack Lightning
12. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl
13. Respectable
14. Five Long Years
15. Pretty Girl
16. Louise
17. I'm A Man
18. Here 'Tis
19. I Wish You Would
20. A Certain Girl
21. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl (Backing Track)
22. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl (Backing Track Plus Harmonica)
23. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl (Master)
24. I Ain't Got You.
Disc Three - 1965/66 - Big Hits & America Calling: 
1. For Your Love
2. Got To Hurry (Take 2)
3. Got To Hurry (Take 3 Master)
4. Got To Hurry (Take 4)
5. Putty In Your Hands
6. Sweet Music (Take 3)
7. Sweet Music (Take 4)
8. I'm Not Talking
9. I Ain't Done Wrong
10. My Girl Sloopy
11. Heart Full Of Soul (Sitar Version)
12. Heart Full Of Soul
13. Steeled Blues
14. Evil Hearted You
15. Still I'm Sad
16. Shapes Of Things
17. Shapes Of Things (Alt.)
18. You're A Better Man Than I
19. I'm A Man
20. New York City Blues
21. Train Kept A-Rollin'
22. Paff...Bum
23. Questa Volta
24. Mr Zero (Keith Relf)
25. Knowing (Keith Relf)
26. New York City Blues (Stereo Remix).
Disc Four - 1966/67 - An Eye View Of Beat: 
1. Jeff's Blues (Take 1)
2. Jeff's Blues (Take 2)
3. Someone To Love, Part One (Take 2, Instr)
4. Someone To Love, Part One (Take 4, Instr)
5. Someone To Love, Part One (Take 14, Instr)
6. Someone To Love, Part One (Take 15, Vocal)
7. Someone To Love, Part Two
8. Like Jimmy Reed Again
9. Chris' Number (Take 1)
10. Pounds And Stomps (XYZ)
11. Pounds And Stomps
12. What Do You Want (Take 1)
13. What Do You Want (Take 2)
14. What Do You Want (Take 3)
15. What Do You Want (Take 4)
16. Here 'Tis (Stereo Instrumental Version)
17. Here 'Tis (Version For 'Ready, Steady, Go!')
18. Crimson Curtain (Edit Of Take One And Insert)
19. Stroll On
20. I'm A Man (Live In Germany, 1967)
21. Shapes Of Things (Live In Germany, 1967).