Price: £125.00
Format: Boxset
Artist: Wishbone Ash
CatNo: SMABX1232
Tags (click for related products):
Wishbone Ash Argus-50th Anniversary Boxset Martin Turner
Wishbone Ash celebrate the 50th anniversary of their classic album Argus with a 7-Disc multi-format box set.
The set includes:
3 CDs comprising Martin Turner’s Argus remaster, Live at The Alexandra Palace 1973, Live in Memphis 1972, 4 previously unreleased early version demos.
2 LPs - An original Argus replica (remastered for this release) and Argus Live on yellow vinyl (selected recordings from Alexandra Palace and Memphis). 
A DVD including French and Swiss TV footage, Live from the Rainbow 1973, and an RTS Broadcast from 1974.
A 7” Single of ‘Blowin’ Free’.
A 48-page softback perfect bound book with rare photographs and extensive liner notes featuring contributions from Andy Powell, Martin Turner and Steve Upton
A numbered certificate of authenticity.
The band's ultimate statement given the deluxe treatment it richly deserves.
Wishbone Ash achieved considerable success in the 1970s, during which they were among England's most popular hard rock acts, achieving an incredible eight top 40 albums. Often regarded as one of the premiere UK live acts of the 1970s, the band toured throughout this period and into the following decades.
1972 was one of rock music’s most memorable years for regal releases - a golden age of classic albums - Exile on Main Street, Machine Head, The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars, All the Young Dudes, Roxy Music, Can’t Buy a Thrill, Sailin’ Shoes, Foxtrot, Demons and Wizards, Transformer and Barnstorm - by rock royalty - The Rolling Stones, Deep Purple, Davie Bowie, Mott the Hoople, Roxy Music, Steely Dan, Little Feat, Genesis, Uriah Heep, Lou Reed and Joe Walsh. Not least among these amazing artists and records was Wishbone Ash - and their award-winning ‘Album of the Year’ - Argus. 
Undoubtedly the most famous of the bands’ 1970s canon, Argus is not only the biggest selling album of WA's career - featuring the beloved fan-favourite ‘Blowin’ Free’ - but also full of memorable and timeless tunes such as ‘The King Will Come’, ‘Time Was’, ‘Warrior’ and ‘Throw Down The Sword’. 
Featuring a heady blend of prog rock, folk and hard rock, Argus is widely considered a vital moment in the progression of twin-lead guitar harmonisation.
As they reigned supreme through the 1970s, Wishbone Ash was centred on inspired musicianship, joyful spirit and inventive songs. Their concerts were uplifting and their recorded work sublime. Argus remains a stunning highpoint in the band’s startling repertoire. 
This is a vital addition to the Wishbone Ash catalogue.


1. Time Was
2. Sometime World
3. Blowin' Free
1. The King Will Come
2. Leaf And Stream
3. Warrior
4. Throw Down The Sword
CD1 - Argus
1. Time Was
2. Sometime World
3. Blowin` Free
4. The King Will Come
5. Leaf And Stream
6. Warrior
7. Throw Down The Sword
Bonus tracks:
8. Time Was (Demo)
9. The King Will Come (Demo)
10. Warrior (Demo
11. Throw Down The Sword (Demo)
1. No Easy Road (1972 Single Version)
1. Blowin' Free (1972 Single Version)
Argus Live
1. Blowin` Free (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
2. Sometime World (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
1. Time Was (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
2. Blowin` Free (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
3. Warrior (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
CD2 - Live at Alexandra Palace
1. Blowin' Free (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
2. Jail Bait (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
3. No Easy Road (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
4. Baby What You Want Me To Do (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
5. Sometime World (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
6. The Pilgrim (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
7. Where Were You Tomorrow (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
8. End Announcement (Live at Alexandra Palace 22.12.73)
CD3 - Memphis 1972
1. Time Was (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
2. Blowin' Free (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
3. Jail Bait (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
4. Warrior (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
5. The Pilgrim (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
6. Phoenix (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
7. Blind Eye (Memphis Radio Broadcast 21.08.1972)
DVD - French & Swiss TV Footage
1. Blowin' Free - Introduction (French TV INA 24.2.73 - Live from the Rainbow)
2. Backstage Interview 1 (French TV INA 24.2.73 - Live from the Rainbow)
3. The Pilgrim (French TV INA 24.2.73 - Live from the Rainbow)
4. Backstage Interview 2 (French TV INA 24.2.73 - Live from the Rainbow)
5. End of Phoenix (French TV INA 24.2.73 - Live from the Rainbow)
6. Jail Bait - Intro (btb (RTS) Swiss 5.1.1974)
7. Warrior (btb (RTS) Swiss 5.1.1974)
8. Blowin` Free (btb (RTS) Swiss 5.1.1974)
9. Snippet of Phoenix - Outro (btb (RTS) Swiss 5.1.1974)