Price: £19.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: White Moth Black Butterfly
CatNo: KSCOPE1114
Tags (click for related products):
White Moth Black Butterfly The Cost Of Dreaming Vinyl
White Moth Black Butterfly’s brilliant 2021 return signals a sonic evolution in the bands’ output while still retaining its core identity.
Featuring a team of songwriters and producers based worldwide - all at the height of their own scenes - collaborating with Daniel Tompkins (TesseracT) are New-Delhi based Skyharbor songwriter and producer Keshav Dhar, US based producer and string arranger Randy Slaugh (Devin Townsend, Architects & Periphery), drummer Mac Christensen and UK singer/ lyricist Jordan Bethany (Turner).
'White Moth Black Butterfly’s charm is their complementing contrasts. Just take a look at the evocative name, or the way they seamlessly juggle pop sheen with experimental, cinematic soundscapes.' Louder Sound
180g vinyl edition in non-gatefold cover..
White Moth Black Butterfly are a contemporary pop project with progressive and experimental music at its heart; initially created by Daniel Tompkins as a creative outlet aside from his writing with TesseracT to indulge in his other musical influences ranging from Massive Attack, Enigma, Sigur Ros, David Bowie to Tool, Dredg and Thrice.  
Self produced, engineered and recorded over three continents in various home studios throughout the Covid 19 lockdowns, The Cost Of Dreaming was written remotely with regular file sharing and meetings online. 
Retaining the use of organic string sections and experimental theme linking interludes, there are strong lyrical themes throughout the album, with Use You addressing the ongoing domestic abuse crisis during lockdown and offering a way to signpost people toward supporting agencies. A series of easter eggs are available for fans to discover too, with a link between TesseracT’s live portals experience, demonstrating the interconnected relationships throughout the two bands’ various projects. 
With artwork from the award winning Ani Artworks and the vocal mixing services of external producer Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Skyharbor), The Cost Of Dreaming finds the band in a highly creative mood. 
1. Ether
2. Prayer For Rain
3. The Dreamer
4. Heavy Heart
5. Portals
6. Use You
7. Darker Days (Feat. Kenny Fong)
1. Sands Of Despair
2. Under The Stars
3. Soma
4. Liberate
5. Unholy
6. Bloom (Feat. Eric Guenther)
7. Spirits