Price: £22.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Ulver
CatNo: VILELP920
The paradigm-shifting fourth studio opus from Norwegian pioneers, Ulver
Limited white double coloured vinyl in gatefold with full lyrics/text, plus a new article from writer and journalist Jeff Wagner on the background, nature and triumph of such this ambitious release.
Themes from William Blake's The Marriage of Heaven & Hell includes guest vocal appearances from Darkthrone’s Fenriz, and Ihsahn and Samoth (Emperor).
Having been known for their more folklore-tinged black metal compositions on early studio releases, in late 1997, mainman Kristoffer Rygg invited keyboardist, sound conceptualist, and composer Tore Ylwizaker into the collective, and together they devised a plan for The Blake Album; an altogether far more adventurous endeavour than prior releases
What resulted was a seamless integration of electronic & industrial music, with elements of progressive metal & avant-garde rock, all fused with ambient passages, & following Blake's plates as track indexes. A work of deep and personal art, the album, while initially surprising to fans due to its complete shift in genre, has become a classic today, and a prime example of the boundary-pushing evolution beyond the confines of genre expectations through the latter part of the 90s. 
Upon release, ‘The Marriage of Heaven & Hell’ received widespread acclaim from critics within the rock, metal and alternative music press, being awarded Album of the Month in several high-profile magazines such as Terrorizer, Metal Hammer, and Rock Hard.
1 The Argument, Plate 2
2 Plate 3
3 Plate 3, Following
4 The Voice Of The Devil, Plate 4
5 Plates 5-6
6 A Memorable Fancy, Plates 6-7
1 Proverbs Of Hell, Plates 7-10
2 Plate 11
3 Intro
4 A Memorable Fancy, Plates 12-13
1 Plate 14
2 A Memorable Fancy, Plate 15
3 Plates 16-17
4 A Memorable Fancy, Plates 17-20
1 Intro
2 Plates 21-22
3 A Memorable Fancy, Plates 22-24
4 Intro
5 A Song Of Liberty, Plates 25-27