Price: £19.99 £16.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Tracey Thorn
CatNo: ROAD011V_del
Tags (click for related products):
Tracey Thorn Record Everything but the Girl vinyl
Record is Tracey Thorn’s first solo album of entirely original material for seven years. 

As ever the personal has often been political in Tracey Thorn’s work. Her voice, self-assured and richly-textured, yet confessional and affecting, spits out the lyrics on ‘Record’ with a fresh compelling drive and remains one of the finest female pop voices of the last four decades.

”I think I’ve always written songs which chronicle the milestones of a woman’s life.” she says. “Different ages and stages, different realities, not often discussed in pop lyrics. If 2010’s Love and Its Opposite was my mid-life album - full of divorce and hormones  - then ‘Record’ represents that sense of liberation that comes in the aftermath, from embarking on a whole new 'no fucks given' phase of life."

On Record, the synth-driven tracks arrive and leave with a punchy sub-three-minute directness. For all its no-fuss pop brevity, the album rotates around Sister, a dubby nine-minute Compass Point-style disco jam.

Across four decades Tracey’s songs and writing have offered up a clear-eyed woman’s view of the immediate world around her; from the acerbic teen love songs of her first early-eighties band Marine Girls, through sixteen years as one half of articulate multi-million-selling duo Everything But The Girl to her recent acclaimed memoirs and journalism.
LP in gatefold.
Side 1
1. Queen
2. Air (Feat. Shura)
3. Guitar
4. Smoke
Side 2
1. Sister (Feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
2. Go
3. Babies
4. Face
5. Dancefloor