Price: £8.25
Format: CD
Artist: Tim Bowness
CatNo: 19439712362_TB
Tags (click for related products):
Tim Bowness Lost In The Ghost Light Ian Anderson no-man CD
Tim Bowness's ambitious concept album from 2017 (Top 10 in the UK Rock, Vinyl and Prog charts).
Mid-price CD in jewel-case edition.
Mixed and mastered by Steven WilsonLost In The Ghost Light uses a core band of Stephen Bennett, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Bruce Soord (The Pineapple Thief), Hux Nettermalm (Paatos) and Andrew Booker, plus guests including Kit Watkins (Happy The Man/Camel), Steve Bingham (No-Man), David Rhodes (Peter Gabriel / Kate Bush) and the legendary Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull). Andrew Keeling (Robert Fripp/Hilliard Ensemble/Evelyn Glennie) arranges for string quartet and flute on three of the album's songs.
Lost In The Ghost Light is a concept album revolving around the onstage and backstage reflections of a fictional 'classic' Rock musician in the twilight of his career. Ranging from the hypnotic opener Worlds Of Yesterday to the wistful climax of Distant Summers, via the thrilling rage of Kill The Pain That's Killing You and the orchestral expanse of You'll Be The Silence, the album features some stunning solos and harmonically rich compositions that represent Bowness's most musically ambitious work to date.
Jarrod Gosling provides the fantastically detailed artwork, which includes a visual history of the career of the concept's subject.
An album unlike any in his back catalogue, Lost In The Ghost Light was released to the best sales, reviews and chart positions of Bowness's career outside of No-Man.
1. Worlds Of Yesterday (5.41)
2. Moonshot Manchild (8.58)
3. Kill The Pain That's Killing You (3.44)
4. Nowhere Good To Go (4.46)
5. You'll Be The Silence (9.01)
6. Lost In The Ghost Light (1.40)
7. You Wanted To Be Seen (5.32)
8. Distant Summers (4.06)