Price: £8.99
Format: CD
Artist: 13th Floor Elevators
Tags (click for related products):
13th Floor Elevators The Psychedelic Sounds of cd
A mid-price deluxe double cd edition of the 13th Floor Elevators’ enduring 1966 debut.
Featuring remastered audio from 2008/09, the original mono mix, the 1966 stereo mix in the band’s intended running order and 5 alternate 'cold desk' mixes from Bob Sullivan, the set is presented in a brilliant jewel case with a detailed 16-page booklet.
"The fearless trailblazers of psychedelia and one of the most kick-ass rock bands ever... For two or so years they burned with a flame so fierce that 40 years on they still remain an inspiration." - MOJO
The Psychedelic Sounds of... the Elevators’ ground-breaking debut from 1966 lays claim to being the first psychedelic rock album and is certainly the first to use the word 'psychedelic'. Known for founder Tommy Hall’s use of the electric jug and Roky Erickson’s emotive singing of Hall’s poetic lyrics, the band influenced music as we know it, including material from legends such as the Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin. As well as influencing a genre, the Elevators developed a culture based on mind-expansion through experimentation with psychoactive drugs in a US state that had particularly harsh laws on their recreational use, effectively making the band members psychedelic outlaws.
Disc 1 contains the original mono audio remastered in 2008 from the original vinyl. Disc 2 features the 1966 stereo audio remastered from the original 2-track master in 2009 by Paul Drummond and Andrew Thompson at Sound Performance and features the tracks in the band's intended running order. Also included on the second disc are 5 'cold desk' mixes made by Bob Sullivan during the band's recording session, which provides a rare glimpse of the raw recordings before the band added echo and reverb. 
CD 1
The original 1966 mono mix
1. You`re Gonna Miss Me 
2. Roller Coaster
3. Splash 1 
4. Reverberation
5. Don’t Fall Down
6. Fire Engine
7. Thru The Rhythm
8.  You Don`t Know
9. Kingdom Of Heaven [3:08] 
10. Monkey Island  [2:38]
11. Tried To Hide [2:48] 
CD 2
1966 stereo mix in the band’s intended running order
1. You Don`t Know (How Young You Are) [2:58]
2. Thru The Rhythm [3:08]
3. Monkey Island  [2:38]
4. Roller Coaster [5:05]
5. Fire Engine [3:20]
6. Reverberation [2:48]
7. Tried To Hide [2:48]
8. You`re Gonna Miss Me [2:31]
9. Splash 1 [03:54]
10. Don`t Fall Down [3:00]
11. Kingdom Of Heaven [3:08]
Bob Sullivan’s Original Stereo Mixes
12. Fire Engine (original stereo) [3:20]
13. Monkey Island (original stereo) [2:44]
14. Roller Coaster (original stereo) [5:05]
15. Thru The Rhythm (original stereo) [3:03]
16. Tried To Hide (original stereo) [2:52]