Price: £9.99
Format: CD
Artist: The Names
Tags (click for related products):
The Names Swimming CD
Factory Benelux presents the single CD edition of Swimming, the acclaimed album by Belgian new wave group The Names, originally issued in June 1982.
Between 1979 and 1982 The Names recorded a string of excellent records for Factory, Factory Benelux and Les Disques du Crépuscule, all helmed by legendary producer Martin Hannett. Recorded at Strawberry Studios in Manchester, Swimming is now regarded as a cold wave classic, combining strong songwriting from Michel Sordinia and poised, tasteful delivery by guitarist Marc Deprez and keyboards player Christophe Den Tandt.
Bonus tracks on the CD include the singles Calcutta, Nightshift, joined by The Astronaut and Spectators of Life on the vinyl. Both formats feature the band's John Peel radio session from February 1982, the first ever recorded by a Belgian band.
1. Discovery
2. Floating World
3. The Fire
4. Life By the Sea
5. White Shadow
6. Harmony
7. Shanghai Gesture
8. Leave Her to Heaven
9. Light
10. Music for Someone
11. Calcutta
12. Nightshift
13. Life By the Sea (Peel Session)
14. Discovery (Peel Session)
15. Shanghai Gesture (Peel Session)
16. Harmony (Peel Session)