Price: £9.99
Format: CD
Artist: The Anchoress
CatNo: KSCOPE632
Tags (click for related products):
The Anchoress The Art Of Losing CD
The Art of Losing is the second album from Welsh multi-instrumentalist The Anchoress (aka Catherine Anne Davies), following up on her critically acclaimed debut album, Confessions of A Romance Novelist. 
Written and produced by Davies, the album features guest appearances from James Dean Bradfield (Manic Street Preachers) and Sterling Campbell (David Bowie, Duran Duran), along with the mixing talents of Dave Eringa (Manics, Wilko Johnson) and grammy-award winner Mario McNulty (David Bowie, Prince, Laurie Anderson).
CD in digipack with 24-page booklet.
The Art Of Losing ambitiously navigates the topic of loss in all its forms and was written, recorded and produced by Davies during an unfeasibly busy few years as she found solace and purpose in a range of projects whilst navigating her griefs. Most recently this came via the release of her collaborative album ‘In Memory of My Feelings’ with Bernard Butler (on Pete Paphides’ label Needle Mythology), duetting with the Manic Street Preachers on ‘Resistance Is Futile’, and being personally invited by The Cure’s Robert Smith to perform at his Meltdown Festival. She also brought a new generation of ears to legendary Scottish rock band Simple Minds, where she spent much of the last five years appearing on the Big Music (2015) and Walk Between Worlds (2018) albums.
Critical praise for The Anchoress’ debut album:
"Hounds Of Love, updated for the 21st century." PROG
"Davies is making music like nobody else at the moment." NME
"A devastatingly powerful voice." MOJO 
"One of the year’s most affecting records... a collection of songs that sets a high bar for intense, soul-tearing pop music. 9/10." THE LINE OF BEST FIT
"Addresses the peaks and troughs of love, commitment and betrayal...Fascinating." SUNDAY TIMES
"A rich and complex debut...a blackly witty breakup album...Compelling." THE OBSERVER
"Like Karen Carpenter singing John Grant." UNCUT 
"A flawless and sophisticated hyper-literate pop record." GQ 
"A record which could sneak big ideas past the listeners of daytime radio."
" and satisfyingly poptastic." THE QUIETUS
1. Moon Rise (Prelude) (02:51)
2. Let It Hurt (03:37)
3. The Exchange (feat. James Dean Bradfield)
4. Show Your Face (04:27)
5. The Art Of Losing (04:07)
6. All Farewells Should Be Sudden (05:02)
7. All Shall Be Well (01:39)
8. Unravel (04:05)
9. Paris (02:01)
10. 5AM (04:02)
11. The Heart Is A Lonesome Hunter (04:06)
12. My Confessor (03:56)
13. With The Boys (05:57)
14. Moon (An End) (02:52)