Price: £19.99

Format: Vinyl
Artist: No-Man
CatNo: KSCOPE954
Tags (click for related products):
no-man Returning Jesus LP steven wilson tim bowness jansen noman

A deluxe Kscope label double 180g LP reissue of No-Man’s lauded fourth studio album featuring a 2017 remaster by Steven Wilson.

Originally released on the 3rd Stone label in February 2001, Returning Jesus is a collection of ambitious songs which combine Singer-Songwriter, Art Rock, ECM Jazz, and Ambient influences with the band’s unique widescreen production and seductively melancholy compositions. 

Guest musicians include Steve Jansen (Japan/Rain Tree Crow) on drums, Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree) on bass and double bass, Theo Travis (Soft Machine) on saxophone and flute, and Ian Dixon on trumpet. The late trumpeter Ian Carr (Nucleus), David Kosten (Faultline, Bat For Lashes) and Ben Christophers contribute to the evocative opening piece Only Rain.

The double vinyl edition is packaged in a gatefold sleeve, which features sleeve notes by Tim Bowness plus additional artwork and photographs from regular No-Man collaborator Carl Glover. The first three sides contain the whole of Returning Jesus, while the fourth collects assorted EP tracks from the Returning Jesus era.
The first 500 orders come with an exclusive postcard signed by Tim Bowness and Steven Wilson. Please note that all the signed postcards have sold out.


side 1
1. only rain (7.24)
2. no defence (5.20)
3. close your eyes (8.25)

side 2
1. carolina skeletons (5.08)
2. outside the machine (5.46)
3. returning jesus (5.19)

side 3
1. slow it all down (3.42)
2. lighthouse (8.12)
3. all that you are (4.44)

side 4 - ep tracks:
1. something falls (3.34)
2. chelsea cap (5.25)
3. until tomorrow - hi-fi (2.59)
4. darkroom (3.52)
5. carolina reprise (3.00)

- Tim Bowness / vocals, lyrics
- Steven Wilson / instruments


- Ben Christophers / acoustic guitar (1,7)
- David Kosten / synthesizer & cymbal (1), co-producer (1)
- Ian Carr / trumpet (1)
- Ian Dixon / trumpet (2), flugelhorn (3,7,22)
- Theo Travis / saxophone (7,22), flute (8,14,19,20)
- Colin Edwin / bass, double bass (1,8)
- Steve Jansen / drums
- Rick Edwards / percussion (3,12,19)