Price: £10.99
Format: CD
Artist: Grice
CatNo: HS004
Tags (click for related products):
Grice Alexandrine cd
Art Rock singer-songwriter/musician GRICE returns with his second album Alexandrine, which builds on 2012's highly-regarded Propeller.
The 12-track album is produced by GRICE and features Richard Barbieri on keyboards, synthesisers and as co-producer on two of the tracks.
Alexandrine has been mixed by Steve Jansen, who also lends unique percussive input, tonalities and treatments to the material.
The album features musical contributions from a unique line-up, including Hossam Ramzy (Led Zeppelin, Peter Gabriel) on percussion, Italian trumpet player Luca Calabrese, BJ Cole on pedal steel guitar, Suzanne Barbieri and violinist Steve Bingham (no-man). 
The core band includes Al Swainger on bass and 05Ric on drums.
Alexandrine is a rare and multi-faceted musical gem, an intricate play of changing colours and unique rhythms diffracted by GRICE'S passionate vocals and powerful songwriting.
Through sonic musical sculpture, instrumental eclecticism and Proustian detail, Alexandrine entices the listener to embark on a voyage through continents and cultures.  Alexandrine arouses celluloid fantasies and narrates a kaleidoscope of emotions.
Alexandrine was mastered by Simon Heyworth (Mike Oldfield/Tubular Bells) and is available on CD in an elegant card digipak with original artwork by British artist Elizabeth McAlpine.
‘Alexandrine is an Art Rock gem - there is much that is filmic and Zen here. 
When personality is required, Grice’s voice has it. Grice sounds like Grace.‘ 
(Classic Rock presents PROG, Aug 2015).
1. Alexandrine
2. She's in my Garden
3. Eclipse
4. Flaw 1 (Fracture)
5. Leftside
6. The Magic of Changing Colours
7. 12 Syllables
8. Flaw 2 (Silica)
9. Incomplete
10. Frozen Water
11. Clear Conscious & Free
12. Flaw 3 (Fractal)

Grice - vocals, acoustic/electric guitars, keys, ebow, tzouras, treatments, tonalities, percussion Richard Barbieri - keyboards, synthesisers, tonalities Steve Jansen - additional drums, percussion, tonalities Hossam Ramzy - percussion, triangle, riq, duff, Egyptian tabla Luca Calabrese - freeform trumpet B J Cole - pedal steel guitar Al Swainger - bass, double bass, french horn, pedals 05 Ric - drums Suzanne Barbieri - vocals Matt Calder - hang drums Steve Bingham - viola, violin Maria K. Peters - spoken word Joe Breban - drums All tracks produced by GRICE Songs written & arranged by GRICE Music & Lyrics by GRICE Tracks (7, 10) Co-Produced by Richard Barbieri Additional Arrangements (1, 7, 9, 10) by Richard Barbieri Mixed by Steve Jansen Additional Treatments & Tonalities - Steve Jansen Engineered by Duncan Chave & GRICE Recorded at Sound Gallery Studios, UK. Mastered by Simon Heyworth & Andy Miles at Super Audio Mastering Original Cover Art from Sprayed Sound courtesy of Elizabeth McAlpine Artistic Direction: GRICE Cover Design: Carl Glover