Price: £8.99 £7.99
Format: CD
Artist: Ulver
CatNo: KSCOPE683
Tags (click for related products):
Ulver MESSE_I-X-VI-X CD Kscope
Mid-price edition of Ulver's 2013 atmospheric, electronic, classical recordings with the Tromso Chamber Orchestra.
The follow up to 2011’s acclaimed Wars of the Roses, Messe I.X–VI.X was a different entity; reverberating 2007’s somber and solemn Shadows of the Sun.
Composed and first performed live by Ulver, alongside the Tromsø Chamber Orchestra on September 21 2012, the music was commissioned by the Tromsø Kulturhus (House of Culture) in Norway, in a cooperation with the Arctic Opera and Philharmonic Orchestra cultural institution. The band took the concert recordings back to Oslo and spent the Winter and Spring of 2013 in post-production, honing the material for its studio-equivalent. The album echoes the early electronic experiments of EPs Silence Teaches You How to Sing and Silencing the Singing, and is furthermore said to invoke the ghost of an abandoned Nattens madrigal renaissance-project.
Six compositions  written and produced, recorded and mixed by Ulver, consisting of Ole Alexander Halstensgård, Kristoffer Rygg, Jørn H. Sværen and Tore Ylwizaker, with additional aid and advice from composer Martin Romberg who also arranged the music for the 21 members of Tromsø Chamber Orchestra. The album also features the extraordinary talents of contemporary composers/musicians Ole-Henrik Moe and Kari Rønnekleiv.
The Norwegian masters have evolved over the past two decades to cross an astonishing body of disciplines, taking in ambient, avant-garde, electronic, psychedelic, prog and jazz influences.
Digipack edition.
1. As Syrians Pour In, Lebanon Grapples With Ghosts Of A Bloody Past
2. Shri Schneider
3. Glamour Box (Ostinati)
4. Son Of Man
5. Noche Oscura Del Alma
6. Mother Of Mercy