Price: £9.99 £5.00
Format: CD
Artist: Mariana Semkina
CatNo: KSCOPE661
Tags (click for related products):
Mariana Semkina Sleepwalking iamthemorning Nick Beggs CD
The debut solo album by the award-winning Iamthemorning singer-songwriter, featuring Jordan Rudess, Craig Blundell, Nick Beggs and the St. Petersburg Orchestra, “1703".
‘An adorable ethereal presence... Her vocals are beautiful too, haunting and ghostly.’ - The Independent
CD in sleevepac with 16 page booklet.
Following the success of four highly-praised albums with Iamthemorning, the lyricist, singer and co-songwriter Marjana Semkina releases her spellbinding debut solo album, Sleepwalking. Characterised by her composed and unique voice, complex melodic lines and poetic lyrics with literary references, Semkina has often compared favourably with Kate Bush. The new material draws from the Iamthemorning soundscape but exists fully in Mariana's world; a compelling mixture of alternative folk, pop, drama, beauty and emotionally purging lyrics. A blend akin to the darker folk of Aldous Harding, Marissa Nadler, Sumie and Florist.
To aid the recording of Marjana's vision for Sleepwalking, she invited the participation of Jordan Rudess, Craig Blundell, Nick Beggs and the St. Petersburg Orchestra, “1703" and frequent collaborator Vlad Avy. 
The album artwork makes reference to Semkina's love for classical art, unifying photography with the 17th-Century Vanitas movement; a genre of still-life painting that includes objects symbolic of death's inevitability and the transience and vanity of earthly achievements and pleasures, exhorting the viewer to consider mortality. The album's music echoes the questions posed by the artwork, it is stripped down to raw emotion: no sugar-coating, no filters, just creative thought caught in the moment.
1. Dark Matter [03:12]
2. Am I Sleeping Or Am I Dead [04:27]
3. Turn Back Time [04:06]
4. Ars Longa Vita Brevis [03:03]
5. Invisible [03:07]
6. Lost At Sea [04:59]
7. Skin [04:52]
8. How To Be Alone [02:50]
9. Everything Burns [03:14]
10. Mermaid Song [04:32]
11. Still Life [04:08]