Price: £13.00

Format: CD
Artist: Egg
CatNo: CD697202
Tags (click for related products):
the metronomical society egg cd mont campbell Canterbury
Egg consisted of Dave Stewart (keyboards), Mont Campbell (bass/vocals) and Clive Brooks (drums). Known for their uncompromising complexity and pinpoint accuracy of performance, the group was one of the most musically adventurous to emerge from the UK underground scene of the late '60s. 
The Metronomical Society is a collection of live and studio recordings made by the pioneering trio between 1969 and 1972. It features archive material unheard for nearly 40 years, including a sizeable segment of Egg's last Roundhouse concert which demonstrates the group's live power. Also included are superior versions of tracks from the band's radio sessions, previously available only on poor-quality bootlegs.
The CD lasts over an hour and ships in a full-colour Digipak with a 20-page booklet containing Egg's history in the musicians' own words, unique period photos and artwork. The foreword is written by the irrepressible Captain Sensible.
The idea of an Egg retrospective CD arose when Dave Stewart was compiling bonus tracks for the re-release of Arzachel in 2007. In Dave's words: "There have been a few Egg bootlegs over the years, all terrible sound quality with inaccurate or non-existent documentation. I felt we should try to remedy this, and was delighted when music fan David Carruthers told us he had over an hour of archive Egg material on tape, recordings he'd stored carefully for 35 years and never copied - hats off to him. That discovery made the idea of an Egg archive CD feasible. Some of the music was recorded at our last-ever London gig at the Roundhouse in July 1972; those tapes reflect exactly how the band sounded to me on stage, with a bite, attack and visceral power that our '70s albums failed to capture."


The Metronomical Society is performed by Dave Stewart (keyboards / tone generator), Mont Campbell (bass / vocals) and Clive Brooks (drums).

1. While Growing My Hair

2. Seven Is A Jolly Good Time

3. Germ Patrol

4. Ennegram

5. Long Piece no. 3, Part 2

6. Long Piece no. 3, Part 4

7. There's No Business Like Show Business

8. Blane Over Camden

9. Long Piece no.3, Part 3

10. Wring Out The Ground (Loosely Now)

11. McGillicuddie The Pusillanimous

12. I Do Like To Be Beside The Seaside