Price: £12.00
Format: CD
Artist: Various Artists
CatNo: DiNTS03
Tags (click for related products):
Various Artists Tone Science Module No3 Cosines and Tangents CD
Tone Science is a DiN sub-label featuring artists working in the field of modular synthesis. 
Following the success of the first two Tone Science compilation albums, DiN label boss Ian Boddy has collated another nine tracks that further the journey down the rabbit hole of possibilities and sound worlds inhabited by artists and musicians working in this ever fascinating and varied musical field.
Three of these names will be familiar to DiN listeners whereas the other six are new to the label.
Thus the album opens with a shimmering soundscape from American ambient pioneer Robert Rich who has previously collaborated with Boddy on three DiN releases. Well known for his infamous “sleep concerts” Rich here focuses in on the sonic details that modular synthesisers can offer the composer. The following two tracks by Caspar Hesselager and Little Ambient Machine show beautifully how a simple melodic sequenced phrase can be shifted, fractured and refocused in the analogue domain. 
The mid album section then features two very different tracks with a more experimental feel. Radek Rudnicki cleverly mixes samples of traditional Japanese music controlled in the modular world with great swathes of analogue synth whereas Eden Grey uses her modular in a very retro, radiophonic manner to conjure up the raw sounds of yesteryear.
The music returns to sequenced tracks with synth maestro Benge lightening the mood with the Kraftwerk like motifs of “Round #2”. The next track, “Angel”, is by d’Voxx who recently had their debut album, “Télégraphe” (DiN58) released on the DiN label to great acclaim. Once again they show off their skilful use of sequences with melodic progressions to create a captivating track. The album has it’s sonic climax with “Berserker” by Redshift which after a dark sonic intro section goes into overdrive with a huge Moog modular system going full tilt. Redshift is none other than Mark Shreeve who has been a long time collaborator with Boddy in the ARC project which has spawned several releases on the DiN label.
Finally after such a huge sounding piece the album calmly dissipates through the beautifully simplistic yet haunting “Hands” by Jogging House to bring to a close another varied and intriguing Tone Science album.
01 Cyclosporum by Robert Rich 6:31
02 The Divided Apparatus by Caspar Hesselager 8:51
03 Anemones by Little Ambient Machine 9:01
04 En-Edge by Radek Rudnicki 7:04
05 AVA 2 by Eden Grey 7:27
06 Round #2 by Benge 6:00
07 Angel by d’Voxx 5:34
08 Berserker by Redshift 7:48
09 Hands by Jogging House 6:29