Price: £8.99
Format: CD
Artist: 13th Floor Elevators
Tags (click for related products):
13th floor elevators bull of the woods 2CD a love thats sound
A mid-price deluxe double CD containing two classic Post-Psychedelic statements from the 13th Floor Elevators, the band’s fourth album Bull Of The Woods and the ‘lost’ third album A Love That's Sound.
Including the mono mix of A Love That's Sound, plus remastered stereo audio from 2007, the set is presented in a brilliant jewel case with a detailed 16-page booklet.
During a turbulent time for the Elevators, caused by drug issues and incarceration for vocalist Roky Erickson, lead guitarist Stacy Sutherland ran the recordings for these two albums, featuring a frequently-changing lineup. The result is this fine post-psychedelic rock album in Bull of the Woods, which features on Disc 2. The first disc is dedicated to the lost 'third' album; A Love That's Sound features alternate recordings taken from the original acetate, 2-track master and multi-track masters. Audio restoration and final mastering to disc was handled by Andrew Thompson at Sound Performance in 2008. 
"The fearless trailblazers of psychedelia and one of the most kick-ass rock bands ever... For two or so years they burned with a flame so fierce that 40 years on they still remain an inspiration." - MOJO
"This album more than holds up against its predecessors: Sutherland’s lovelorn songs inhabiting a bluesier cosmic sound reminiscent of The Grateful Dead, Moby Grape or Blue Cheer – for whom the Elevators were an undeniable inspiration." - Uncut
CD 1
1. Wait For My Love (unreleased 6th Single - Version 1) [3:24]
2. It's You (aka I Don`t Ever Want To Come Down) [2:41]
3. May The Circle Remain Unbroken (original mix - unreleased 6th single) [2:36]
4. Livin' On (alternate full take with original vocals) [5:30]
5. Never Another (alternate full take with original vocals) [3:51]
6. Dr Doom (alternate take 6, original vocals) [3:22]
7. Sweet Surprise (take 5 - backing track) [3:39]
8. Moon Song (take 1 - backing track) [3:39]
CD 2
1. Livin' On [3:21]
2. Barnyard Blues [2:53]
3. Till Then [3:18]
4. Never Another [2:26]
5. Rose And The Thorn [3:39]
6. Down By The River [1:51]
7. Scarlet And Gold [5:00]
8. Street Song [4:59]
9. Dr Doom [3:09]
10. With You [2:12]
11. May The Circle Remain Unbroken [2:43]