Price: £6.99
Format: CD
Artist: Funkadelic
CatNo: SNAP302CD
Tags (click for related products):
Funkadelic Hardcore Jollies CD
For contractual reasons this release is not available for sale in North America
The band's first major label outing from 1976, dedicated to the 'guitar players of the world', which highlights their usual irresistible combination of funk, rock and psychedelia.
Hardcore Jollies [US R&B No.12] was Funkadelic's ninth studio album and the band's first for Warner Bros. Records.  
Released in October 1976 and dedicated to "the guitar players of the world", it followed hard on the heels of their last album for indie Westbound, which comprised outtakes from the same recording sessions. Hardcore Jollies was also the last Funkadelic album to feature three original members of The Parliaments, vocalists Fuzzy Haskins, Grady Thomas and Calvin Simon. Arguably lighter in tone than earlier outings, goofiness still abounds with standout moments including If You Got Funk, You Got Style and Soul Mate.
Spawning the singles Comin' Round The Mountain and Smokey, the album also includes a live remake of 1973's Cosmic Slop, from the album of the same name.  Recorded during rehearsals for 1976's P-Funk Earth Tour, this version features a vocal introduction dropped from the 1973 studio cut and features prominent guitar solos by Michael Hampton, widely considered to be among the best of his early work. Although uncredited, Hardcore Jollies also features guitarist Eddie Hazel. Artist Pedro Bell delivers the band's trademark eccentric sleeve art, whilst the album's accompanying short story should raise a titter or two.
Very Funkalicious, my friends!


1. Osmosis phase One
2. Comin' Round The Mountain
3. Smokey
4. If You Got Funk, You Got Style
5. Hardcore Jollies
6. Terribitus phase Two
7. Soul Mate
8. Cosmic Slop
9. You Scared The Lovin' Outta Me
10. Adolescent Funk.