Price: £3.49
Format: cd
Artist: Original Blind Boys Of Alabama
CatNo: SNAP267CD
These days arguably the world's foremost gospel group, The Original Blind Boys of Alabama are currently enjoying the greatest commercial success in an extraordinary recording career which began way back in 1948.
Three of the group's original members, including its founder Clarence Fountain, are amongst its current line-up.
Their three recent critically-acclaimed albums released on Peter Gabriel's Real World label, on which they were joined by well-known guest musicians, were an eclectic mix of blues, folk and Afro-beat styles combined with their traditional gospel sound. As a result they have succeeded in crossing their music over to a whole new audience and generation of listeners.
Over the years The Original Blind Boys Of Alabama have recorded for a number of record labels. They were signed to Chicago's Vee-Jay Records between 1963 and 1965, then one of the most significant and highly-regarded gospel labels. 
The hard-driving gospel sound they developed whilst at Vee-Jay was a considerable influence on many soul singers of the day, including Bobby Bland and Marvin Gaye.
'Just A Closer Walk With Thee' is a collection of highlights from the group's Vee-Jay recordings and includes 'Precious Lord' (which they re-recorded on their second Real World album, 'Higher Ground'), 'Mother Loves Her Children' and 'I Trust In God'. It also includes a couple of highlights from the group's earlier recordings, 'What Manner Of A Man Is This' and 'Honey In The Rock'.
1. Precious Lord
2. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
3. I Can See Everybody's Mother
4. What He's Done For Me
5. After A While
6. Old Time Religion
7. Tell God All About It
8. I'm Journeying On
9. Christian In My Heart
10. God Is Real
11. I Just Rose To Tell You
12. How Far Am I From Canaan
13. Looking Back
14. Rock, Sword And Shield
15. People Don't Sing Like They Used To Sing
16. I Trust In God
17. Love Is Like A River
18. Tell Jesus All
19. God Specializes
20. I Thank You Jesus
21. Mother Loves Her Children
22. Come This Far By Faith
23. If You Miss Me From Singing
24. Lord Have Mercy
25. Old Christian
26. He's All Right
27. What Manner Of A Man Is This
28. Honey In The Rock