Price: £9.99 £4.99
Format: cd
Artist: Moraz-Bruford
CatNo: BBWF001CD
Tags (click for related products):
Moraz-Bruford Music For Piano And Drums CD
On reflection, keyboardist Patrick Moraz and drummer Bill Bruford had obvious commonality. By the mid 1980s both were Yes alumni, both were tiring of big stadium excess, both had roots and influences that lay closer to Jazz than progressive rock, and both were looking for a more flexible music, stripped of the trappings and associated costs of their regular day-jobs.
The duo recorded two albums of drum-and-keyboard based music, suffused with upbeat invention and peerless skill. Both 'Music For Piano And Drums' (1983) and 'Flags' (1985) were well received and retain a resonance that still rings loud and true, and is being discovered anew by an eager audience for whom it is as fresh and exciting as it was for those who discovered it the first time around.
Released in 1983, 'Flags' was the more acoustic and organic of the pair's two studio collaborations.
'Marvellously spiky and capricious and closer to the Jazz-based material that Bruford would explore more fully in Earthworks a few years later.' - Sid Smith
1. Children's Concerto
2. Living Space
3. Any Suggestions
4. Eastern Sundays
5. Blue Brains
6. Symmetry
7. Galatea
8. Hazy
9. Blue Brains
10. Flags
11. Hazy