Recorded live in 2004 in New York, the Earthworks Underground Orchestra includes Earthworks' material from throughout the group's lifespan being performed by Bill Bruford and Tim Garland alongside a superb US-based Jazz ensemble.

Tim Garland arranges the material, which brings out fresh qualities in old favourites.

“Musically, it doesn’t get much better than to have some of you own music arranged for a little big band of crack NYC players and to be able to present it in a top NYC jazz club. Steve Wilson’s alto sax solo on ‘Up North’ alone is worth the price of admission. Check this out – I can’t begin to tell you what fun it is to play drums in the middle of this lot.” - Bill Bruford

These are the last remaining CD copies of an album unlikely to be pressed again in the near future. All copies come signed by Bill Bruford.

Please note that some of the CDs are 'speckled'. This does not affect sound quality in any way.

1. Libreville (7:49)
2. Up North (7:41)
3. Pigalle (5:22)
4. Speaking In Wooden Tongues (8:30)
5. Footloose And Fancy Free (10:17)
6. Bajo Del Sol (9:14)
7. It Needn't End In Tears (8:31)
8. The Wooden Man Sings, And The Stone Woman Dances (13:07)
- Steve Wilson / Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute
- Chris Karlic / Baritone Saxophone, Flute
- Bill Bruford / Drums, Percussion
- Mike Pope / Electric Bass, Acoustic Bass
- Henry Hey / Piano
- Tim Garland / Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Bass Clarinet
- Rock Ciccarone / Trombone 
- Alex Sipiagin / Trumpet
- Jon Owens / Trumpet
- Robin Eubanks / Trombone (tracks: 4,5,2-1)