Price: £11.49
Format: CD
Artist: Bill Bruford's Earthworks
CatNo: BBSF011CD
Tags (click for related products):
Bill Bruford's Earthworks All Heaven Broke Loose CD
A 2021 reissue of this long out-of-print album by Bill Bruford’s Earthworks.
Earthworks Mark I's most fully-realised studio release, it features Bruford at his most creative utilising electronic and 'chordal' drums.
Includes bonus live performances of the African-influenced Libreville and the more atmospheric Pilgrim's Way, both originally released on Dig?, demonstrating how Earthworks was able to rework and open up the material in performance.
All Heaven Broke Loose was recorded in Germany in almost exactly the same one hundred hours, at the beginning of 1993, that it took the Allied Forces to defeat Iraq; the title is perhaps an optimistically ironic comment on that unhappy event. Despite its off-kilter approach to tunes that avoid conventional form, Bruford's intrinsic time sense keeps things grounded throughout.
1. Hotel Splendour 
2. Forget-Me-Not 
3. Candles Still Flicker In Romania's Dark 
4. Pigalle 
5. Temple Of The Winds 
6. Nerve 
7. Splashing Out 
8. All Heaven Broke Loose: (a) Psalm (b) Old Song 
Bonus Tracks
9. Libreville 
10. Pilgrim's Way