Price: £23.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: XTC
CatNo: APELP106
Tags (click for related products):
XTC Mummer Vinyl Andy Partridge Colin Moulding APE
Mummer is the eleventh in a series of XTC classics to be issued on 200g vinyl. 
Unavailable for decades on LP and with its original, but never used, sleeve art restored, the album has been mastered by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering with input from Andy Partridge (and is fully approved by XTC).
Featuring the sublime Love On A Farmboy’s Wages, Mummer represented another turning point for XTC as it marked the first release as a studio only band. 
Freed from the constraints of ‘the road’ Mummer presented XTC in widescreen - experimenting with songs, arrangements and the expanded sonic palette that studios can provide when there is no afterthought as to how to reproduce the material in a variety of theatres, university halls and other venues few, if any, of which were built with rock groups in mind. And, just as the Mummers’ plays involve people travelling from place to place in a village enacting tales of the cycle of life (albeit in disguise), XTC travelled the best of the UK’s studios recording, mixing and re-mixing their songs cycle to exacting standards. 
Released as the follow-up to their most successful UK album to date - English Settlement - and with a new record label in America, band and record company hopes were high - three of the album’s first four songs were issued as singles - but were to remain unfulfilled. Fans loved it, the press was positive but radio was changing, especially in the UK, and with no touring it failed, as sometimes happens with bands adopting a new approach, to cross over to that wider audience. 
As also happens with such records, its reputation (and sales) have, over the years, grown far greater than its initial reception indicated and it can now be seen, in retrospect, to have been an important first step towards the sort of expansive approach to writing and recording that would yield much greater commercial results later in the same decade with Skylarking and the albums that followed.
Side One
Beating Of Hearts
Love On A Farmboy’s Wages
Great Fire
Deliver Us From The Elements
Side Two
Human Alchemy
In Loving Memory Of A Name
Me And the Wind
Funk Pop A Roll