Price: £12.00
Format: CD
Artist: Scanner
CatNo: DiN63
Tags (click for related products):
Scanner An Ascent CD electronica ambient Robin Rimbaud
The DiN label debut from the legendary Scanner forms a musical journey that ranges from gentle ambient interludes through to pulsing machine like rhythms. 
Frequently atmospheric and yearning, the album has been created using modular synths during the time of the Covid-19 pandemic.
Scanner - who has worked with such luminaries as Bryan Ferry, Michael Nyman and Laurie Anderson - has been active in Electronic Music since 1991 and been involved in a bewildering array of musical activities covering sonic art, concerts, installations, recordings and dance scores.
His debut DiN solo album comes at a rather strange time for many people. The onset of a global virus has shut down much of the world around us and for many creatives, such as Scanner (Robin Rimbaud), the immediate cancellation of all live performances. Rather than sit back and worry he felt it was important to immediately embrace the tools at hand, and use the power of technology to respond positively. Thus followed a very successful live show broadcast on YouTube which garnered an audience from across the globe with Rimbaud playing an improvised live modular synth set which can still be enjoyed here:
Watching and listening was DiN label boss Ian Boddy who immediately contacted Rimbaud to invite him to produce an album for the highly respected DiN label. Rimbaud thus spent the next few days recording 90 minutes of new music using the very same set up he had used for this YouTube concert. Boddy and Rimbaud then curated these recordings to form this solo DiN debut Scanner album “An Ascent” (DiN63).
This is an inspiring album from this totally unique British artist and one that may have never come in to existence if it wasn’t for the strange times we live in.
1 The Ascent   06:57  
2 The Fall Of Gray   05:55  
3 Daylit Daylight  06:05  
4 Stranice   04:22
5 If I Lose My Way I Will Shut My Eyes And Turn My Head  04:44  
6 Earwicker   05:00  
7 Auftakt   04:18
8 Your Eyes Are The Eyes Of The People   02:44  
9 Counterpointe   09:37