Price: £11.35
Format: CD
Artist: Roger Daltrey
CatNo: 7763526
Tags (click for related products):
Roger Daltrey Tommy Orchestral The Who CD
The Who’s Tommy Orchestral, performed by Roger Daltrey, with members of The Who live band and The Budapest Scoring Orchestra conducted by Keith Levenson.
A live performance of The Who's conceptual classic recorded in Budapest and Bethel in upstate New York in 2018, Tommy Orchestral features a bold new orchestration by David Campbell (who has worked with Radiohead, Bob Dylan, and his son Beck) and an impassioned performance from Daltrey.
Since it was first debuted at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in Soho London in early May 1969, Tommy has had many different live outings; it was performed in full at the Woodstock and Isle Of Wight Festivals in 1969, it was the basis for a ballet in Canada in 1970, it was a full-blown opera in Seattle in 1971, in 1972 it was recorded as an orchestral piece by the London Symphony Orchestra featuring Stevie Winwood, Rod Stewart, Richie Havens, Pete Sellers and Ringo Starr, there was the infamous 1975 movie directed by Ken Russell starring Elton John, Eric Clapton, Tina Turner, Ann Margaret, Oliver Reed, Jack Nicholson and Roger Daltrey. After that, the band didn't perform it again until 1989 in Los Angeles when guests such as Phil Collins, Billy Idol, Elton John & Patti Labelle were part of the show. In 1993 the musical version opened on Broadway and won five Tony awards before transferring to The West End where it went on to win three Olivier awards.
Roger Daltrey on Tommy’s enduring appeal after 50 years and why it sounds better with an orchestra: "Pete’s music is particularly suited to being embellished by the sounds that an orchestra can add to a band. Tommy can mean whatever you want it to mean, I use the characters in it as metaphors for parts of the human condition, so it’s a kind of a story of the human spirit. Even though it is 50 years on, I approach it as though I'm singing it for the first time."


01 Overture
02 It's A Boy
03 1921
04 Amazing Journey
05 Sparks
06 Eyesight To The Blind
07 Christmas
08 Cousin Kevin
09 The Acid Queen
10 Do You Think It's Alright
11 Fiddle About
12 Pinball Wizard
13 There's A Doctor
14 Go To The Mirror
15 Tommy, Can You Hear
16 Smash The Mirror
17 Refrain - It's A Boy
18 I'm Free
19 Miracle Cure
20 Sensation
21 Sally Simpson
22 Welcome
23 Tommy's Holiday Camp
24 We're Not Gonna Take It
Roger Daltrey – Vocals
Simon Townshend – Vocals / Guitar
Frank Simes - Guitar / Backing Vocals
Jon Button - Bass / Backing Vocals
Loren Gold – Keyboards / Backing Vocals
Mixed by Gareth Johnson for Stand Alone Productions
Orchestral Mix and Additional Production: Richard Whittaker