Price: £17.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Ray Smith
CatNo: SUNSCLP1287
Tags (click for related products):
Ray Smith Shake Around vinyl Charly
Charly Records presents Sun Rockabilly legends series volume 3 - Ray Smith's Shake Around released on limited edition yellow 10" vinyl.
"Nobody wanted recognition more than Ray. He was totally wrapped up in what he was doing. There was never a dry thread on him after a show!" - Sam Phillips
By the end of 1957, the rockabilly heyday of Sun Records was virtually over. Ray Smith's importance to the legacy of the label is that his first Sun session in January 1958 heralded the new era of rock 'n' roll.
Despite recording a string of excellent rocking singles for Sun, commercial success eluded Smith. A year after a series of outstanding concert performances in the UK and Holland during 1978, Ray Smith died tragically as a result of a shooting accident on 29 November 1979.
Shake Around Includes "So Young", "Rockin' Bandit" and "Break Up", which he recorded several months before label-mate and friend Jerry Lee Lewis' made it a hit single.
Shake Around will be released on 28 October 2016 on the legendary Sun Records label via Charly. Having been newly-remastered from the original tapes and pressed on audiophile-quality 10-inch vinyl. The LP contains definitive career-spanning sleeve notes by Adam Komorowski and the first 1,000 copies will be released on limited edition yellow vinyl.
The Sun Rockabilly Legends Series is produced by Sun Entertainment Corporation president John A. Singleton and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young.
1. Breakup [1:52]
2. You Made A Hit [2:20]
3. Little Girl [2:02]
4. Rockin` Bandit [2:06]
5. Willing And Ready [2:08]
1. Right Behind You Baby [2:22]
2. So Young [2:23]
3. Shake Around [2:47]
4. Life Is A Flower [2:00]
5. Candy Doll [2:25]