Price: £28.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Phyllis Hyman
CatNo: USLP1201
Tags (click for related products):
Phyllis Hyman The Essential Double vinyl United Souls
A stunning collection of tracks from the great Phyllis Hyman on double vinyl.
Phyllis Hyman was one the greatest soul and R&B vocalists of the ’70s, ’80s and ’90s. She was almost the epitome of the ‘diva’. She fit the basic description like a glove. She had the sophistication, the attitude, the undeniable beauty, grace and wit and at a statuesque 6’ 1”, everything she needed to wear that crown. Naturally, her voice was of course an undeniably exceptional instrument. 
The 18 tracks on this 2-LP set feature some of her most revered single and LP tracks and perfectly illustrate her remarkable talents. Her voice was a force to be reckoned with, projecting a quite astonishing range that was able to convey the inherent intensity of blues and jazz as well as soul and pop with equal ease. She was not a singer who could have been categorised by any of those musical genres. She combined the very best elements of such supremely talented vocalists as Aretha Franklin or Gladys Knight in the soul field alongside the jazz improvisational skills of an Ella Fitzgerald or the pop sensibilities of singers like Whitney Houston.
‘Well, I don’t sing happy, lovey-dovey stuff ‘cos it’s not my lifestyle. I mean, I know there are a lot of songs out there that say, “I’m in love and life is so great”, but that’s just one side of it, and in all reality, I don’t think there are many of us who can say that. More often than not, there’s a downside. Love and relationships go wrong, and that’s something I know about.’ 
Tragically, on June 30th, 1995, Phyllis took an overdose and died, by her own hand. This collection is just a fraction of her recorded legacy, but what a legacy that is.  
1. You Know How to Love Me (Long Version)
2. Under Your Spell
3. Don`t Tell Me, Tell Her
4. Hottest Love Around
1. Living Inside Your Love
2. Loving You - Losing You
3. Why Did You Turn Me On
4. Gonna Make Changes
1. We Should Be Lovers
2. Let Somebody Love You
3. No One Can Love You More
4. Be Careful (How You Treat My Love)
5. Tonight You and Me
1. Sleep On It
2. The Love Too Good to Last
3. Deliver The Love
4. Betcha By Golly Wow
5. I Don`t Want To Lose You