Price: £11.79
Format: CD
Artist: Miles Davis
CatNo: 0603497850785
Tags (click for related products):
Miles Davis Rubberband Adam Holzman CD
Completed by its original producers in 2019, Rubberband is an unreleased Miles Davis album from 1985. 
Featuring Adam Holzman.
Miles Davis shocked the music world in 1985 when he left Columbia Records after 30 years to join Warner Bros. In October of that year, he began recording the album Rubberband in Los Angeles at Ameraycan Studios with producers Randy Hall and Zane Giles. The musical direction Davis was taking during the sessions marked a radical departure, with the inclusion of funk and soul grooves (with plans to feature guest vocalists Al Jarreau and Chaka Khan). Eventually, the album was shelved and Davis went on to record Tutu, leaving the Rubberband songs unheard and untouched for over 30 years.
In 2017 – 32 years after Davis started recording Rubberband– Hall, Giles, and – and Davis’ nephew, Wilburn, Jr., began work to finish the album. The final version includes several guest artists including singers Ledisi (a 12-time Grammy nominee) and Lalah Hathaway (daughter of soul legend Donny Hathaway).
Davis - who plays both trumpet and keyboards on the album - was joined in the studio by keyboardists Adam Holzman, Neil Larsen and Wayne Linsey; percussionist Steve Reid; saxophonist Glen Burris; and Wilburn, Jr. on drums. The sessions were engineered by Grammy-winner Reggie Dozier, whose brother Lamont Dozier was part of the legendary Motown songwriting team Holland-Dozier-Holland.
 The cover art for the album is a Davis original painting from the time.
“Uncle Miles would be proud. Randy, Zane and I, and everyone involved, put our heart and soul into ‘The Rubberband Of Life,’” says Wilburn, Jr.
1. Rubberband Of Life (featuring Ledisi)
2. This Is It
3. Paradise 
4. So Emotional (featuring Lalah Hathaway)
5. Give It Up
6. Maze
7. Carnival Time
8. I Love What We Make Together (featuring Randy Hall)
9. See I See
10. Echoes In Time / The Wrinkle
11. Rubberband