Price: £25.00 £20.00
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Loreena McKennitt
CatNo: QRLP114C
In a stirring and inspirational return to her roots, Loreena McKennitt created this album of traditional Celtic songs. 
The Wind that Shakes the Barley includes familiar traditional classics such as Down by the Sally Gardens, The Star of the County Down and The Parting Glass. These are mixed with lesser-known traditional songs, including Daithi Sproule's The Death of Queen Jane and As I Roved Out.
Recorded during the summer of 2010 at Sharon Temple, a handcrafted wooden building heritage site north of Toronto, McKennitt is accompanied by long-time musical companions violinist Hugh Marsh, cellist Caroline Lavelle, guitarist Brian Hughes and hurdy-gurdy player Ben Grossman, who are joined by a cast of other accomplished players.
The first vinyl edition of these recordings was released in a 5000-copy, 180g black vinyl limited edition pressing in 2010 which has long since sold out. This 2022 pressing is on 140g transparent yellow vinyl housed in the original artwork.
1. As I Roved Out
2. On A Bright May Morning
3. Brian Boru's March
4. Down By The Sally Gardens
5. The Star Of The County Down
1. The Wind That Shakes The Barley
2. The Death Of Queen Jane
3. The Emigration Tunes
4. The Parting Glass