Price: £12.00
Format: CD
Artist: Robert Jurjendal
CatNo: UR020CD
Tags (click for related products):
Robert Jurjendal Source Of Joy CD


Lying somewhere between contemporary classical, ambient, rock and soundscape music, as in his previous work, UMA's Robert Jurjendal pays close attention to melodic and harmonic structure in this linked series of 'field recordings'.
Robert Jurjendal says,
"The music tells us how it should sound! 
This album is produced as one whole story divided into thirteen individual musical pictures. Assembling this work took almost three full years. Many ideas have been recorded at locations as diverse as hotel room, home, garden and even a sauna. Some of these recordings were originally a simple loops which later were used as creative motors for an expanded writing /recording/production process. In the end, some of these loops, having done their job, were removed from the final pieces and are not heard at all. 
Situations came up where I started to improvise, but later I chose a new arrangment with new instruments and sounds while holding on to the form of the improvisation, it is a total process, not a linear one."


1. Source Of Joy (04:16)
2. Rainsong (05:30)
3. Aeronaut (02:00)
4. February Sun (05:09)
5. Over The Water (01:41)
6. Source Of Joy II (03:22)
7. To The Plain Land (05:57)
8. Signs Of Life (03:42)
9. Asteroids (00:53)
10. The Cotter (06:30)
11. Source Of Joy III (05:01)
12. And Our Eyes Made A Bridge (06:25)


Arvo Urb, Estonian drummer and producer, a member of the legendary Estonian prog rock band In Spe, Robert's bandmate for a long time in Fragile also a member of the project This Fragile Moment (featuring Toyah Willcox, Markus Reuter, Chris Wong and Robert Juerjendal) 
Madis Metsamart - percussionist in the Estonian State Symphonic Orchestra 
Aleksei Saks - corno da caccia player, member of the duo UMA (with Robert Juerjendal) 
Riho Sibul - well-known Estonian guitarist and songwriter, Robert's duo-mate for many years 
Anti Juerjendal - young cello player, Robert's son. 
Lotte Juerjendal - singer and artist, Robert's daughter 
Andi Pupato - percussionist and a sound artist, a co-member of UMA , longtime member of Nik Bartsch's Ronin 
Geoff Leigh - flute player, a legendary improviser, a member of the group Ex-Wise Heads, member of Henry Cow 
The album was recorded in Estonia at Martix Studio and Next Door Studio between Jan-Feb. 2012. Mixed by Arvo Urb and Robert Juerjendal between Sept 2012 - Jan 2013. Mastered by Andi Pupato in March 2013, Zurich, Switzerland