Price: £21.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Katatonia
CatNo: VILELP1092_del
Tags (click for related products):
Katatonia Discouraged_Ones Orange_marble_vinyl Limited
Marking 25 years since its original release, Katatonia's Discouraged Ones is presented on limited edition orange marble vinyl, with the album's original cover artwork.
An album of sublime and haunting Rock/Metal melancholy.
Katatonia was formed in Stockholm, Sweden in 1991 by Jonas Renkse and Anders Nyström & have risen from their early beginnings in dark death/gothic doom metal, to become one of the leading acts of the metallic rock/prog scene, in an illustrious career spanning over three decades and twelve full-length studio albums.
’Discouraged Ones’ was recorded in 1997 at the infamous Sunlight Studios by Fred Estby and Tomas Skogsberg (Entombed, Dismember), and released the following year. 'Discouraged Ones' saw a new direction change with the epic compositions of old replaced with stripped down, compact structures to make room for new vocal harmonies courtesy of Jonas Renkse (who also played drums on the album), putting an end to the growling vocal style from prior releases and giving the band a broader appeal which only helped their trajectory towards being established on the global stage.
Upon release, 'Discouraged Ones' was seen as somewhat of a breakthrough opus for Katatonia which undoubtedly planted the seeds, stylistically, of what the band evolved into & represent to this day, even though more progressive elements were integrated over time. Overall, ’Discouraged Ones’ is a pinnacle of dark, gothic rock/metal excellence combined with ethereal, trance-like intensity.
1 I Break
2 Stalemate
3 Deadhouse
4 Relention
5 Cold Ways
1 Gone
2 Last Resort
3 Nerve
4 Saw You Drown
5 Instrumental
6 Distrust