Price: £15.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Johnny Cash
CatNo: SUNLP1220
Tags (click for related products):
Johnny Cash With His Hot and Blue Guitar limited blue vinyl

2018 remastered blue vinyl version of the classic Sun Records album.

Limited edition.

The comprehensive remastering and repackaging upgrade of the Man In Black’s legendary Sun catalogue continues with the release of Johnny Cash’s first LP from 1957. Johnny Cash With his Hot and Blue Guitar was the first-ever Sun album to be released on the label in October 1957. It included one side of Cash’s debut hit single, ‘Cry! Cry! Cry!’, the classic follow-up ‘Folsom Prison Blues’ and the iconic ‘I Walk the Line’ which reached no. 1 in the US country charts and crossed over to the pop charts peaking at #17. 

Complete with sleeve notes by noted Sun Records authority Adam Komorowski and president of Sun Entertainment Corporation John Singleton, the LP has been remastered from the original Sun master tapes by Nick Robbins at Soundmastering Studios and cut to lacquers at half-speed for unrivalled sound quality by Barry Grint at Alchemy Mastering in London.

The reissue series has been personally overseen by Singleton in Nashville and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young, continuing the long relationship between the companies begun by Shelby Singleton and Young over 40 years ago.

“We applaud and congratulate Charly Records for ensuring Johnny Cash’s legendary Sun catalogue continues to be available on the quality formats his music deserves, especially on newly remastered vinyl for the seven LPs that were originally released by Sun Records in the late fifties and early sixties.” John Singleton (Sun Entertainment Corporation)

“Charly Records have outdone themselves with this current Cash refresh. From first reveal of the meticulously reproduced physical product to that needle-on-wax moment, it’s clear that the team behind the magic here know their onions. It’s a series that’s destined to enthrall any recent arrivals to Cash’s oaky tones and add extra sonic dimensions for the diehards, while giving audiophiles a timely fix.” Long Live Vinyl

1. The Rock Island Line [2:09]
2. I Heard That Lonesome Whistle [2:22]
3. Country Boy [1:50]
4. If The Good Lord's Willing [1:40]
5. Cry! Cry! Cry! [2:23]
6. Remember Me (I'm The One Who Loves You) [1:57]
1. So Doggone Lonesome [2:34]
2. I Was There When It Happened [2:13]
3. I Walk The Line [2:40]
4. The Wreck Of Old '97 [1:48]
5. Folsom Prison Blues [2:48]
6. Doin' My Time [2:35]