Price: £15.99
Format: Vinyl
Artist: Johnny Cash
CatNo: SUNSLP1240
Tags (click for related products):
Johnny Cash Greatest limited white vinyl

2018 remastered white vinyl version of the classic Sun Records album.

Limited edition.

The comprehensive remastering and repackaging upgrade of the Man In Black’s legendary Sun catalogue continues with the release of Johnny Cash’s third Sun LP. Released in October 1969, Johnny Cash's Greatest! features a selection of Cash's recordings of charted singles on the Sun label, through which can be heard his warmth, his sincerity, his humour, and most of all his loneliness, which is perhaps his strongest bond with the man or woman who pauses to listen to his singing. Greatest! includes classics such as "Katy, Too", "Luther's Boogie" and also three tunes penned by Hank Williams and performed by Johnny Cash: "You Win Again", "Hey, Good Lookin'", and "I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You".

Complete with sleeve notes by noted Sun Records authority Adam Komorowski and president of Sun Entertainment Corporation John Singleton, this LP has been remastered from the original Sun master tapes by Nick Robbins at Soundmastering Studios and cut to lacquers at half-speed for unrivalled sound quality by Barry Grint at Alchemy Mastering in London.

The Johnny Cash reissue series has been personally overseen by Singleton in Nashville and Charly Records founder Jean-Luc Young, continuing the long relationship between the companies begun by Shelby Singleton and Young over 40 years ago. 

“We applaud and congratulate Charly Records for ensuring Johnny Cash’s legendary Sun catalogue continues to be available on the quality formats his music deserves, especially on newly remastered vinyl for the seven LPs that were originally released by Sun Records in the late fifties and early sixties.” John Singleton (Sun Entertainment Corporation)

“Charly Records have outdone themselves with this current Cash refresh. From first reveal of the meticulously reproduced physical product to that needle-on-wax moment, it’s clear that the team behind the magic here know their onions. It’s a series that’s destined to enthrall any recent arrivals to Cash’s oaky tones and add extra sonic dimensions for the diehards, while giving audiophiles a timely fix.” Long Live Vinyl

1. Goodbye, Little Darlin' [2:12]
2. I Just Thought You'd Like To Know [2:21]
3. You Tell Me [1:17]
4. It's Just About Time [2:06]
5. I Forgot To Remember To Forget [1:51]
6. Katy, Too [1:55]
1. Thanks A Lot [2:35]
2. Luther Played The Boogie [2:01]
3. You Win Again [2:20]
4. Hey, Good Lookin' [1:40]
5. I Could Never Be Ashamed Of You [2:12]
6. Get Rhythm [2:13]