Price: £6.00
Format: Download mp3
Artist: Hugh Banton
CatNo: FIE9133CD
Tags (click for related products):
Hugh Banton Van Der Graaf Generator VDGG Holst mp3 download
The Planets, most generally known as an orchestral suite, was originally composed as a piano duet, with the exception of the final section, 'Neptune, the Mystic', which was written as an organ piece. 
There is very little in the final orchestral version that was not already firmly defined in the four hands of the original piano arrangement, which Hugh Banton has transcribed as a complete organ performance, using the original orchestration as a guide to stop selection and dynamics. 
Principally known as the keyboard player for the legendary Van der Graaf Generator, Hugh is also a renowned designer and builder of digital church organs. 
The Planets is Hugh's second release from the Classical repertoire played on organ, following his recording of Bach's Goldberg Variations.
1. Mars, the Bringer of War
2. Venus, the Bringer of Peace  
3. Mercury, the Winged Messenger 
4. Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity 
5. Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age 
6. Uranus, the Magician 
7. Neptune, the Mystic