Price: £9.99
Format: cd
Artist: Carthy, Hardy, Farrell, Young
CatNo: HHR003CD
Tags (click for related products):
Carthy_Hardy_Farrell_Young Laylam CD
Outstanding singers and violinists all, Eliza Carthy, Bella Hardy, Lucy Farrell and Kate Young join forces on this astonishing collaborative album, which includes traditional songs alongside unexpected treats such as Peggy Lee’s Why Don't You Do Right. 
‘This musical journey began through the joint efforts of the Sage Gateshead and Alan Bearman at King's Place in London-Kathryn Tickell thought we would sound good together, and it turns out she was right. She later said that it hadn't occurred to her that we were all women who played the violin and sang at once. Happy coincidence then, and one that is working well for our sound-tight harmonies and rhythms in voices and bows. And we had such a good time, and such nice tunes, that we thought we would make this album as an excuse to hang out some more. We played everything pretty much live in a room, with fancy bits added later and mistakes glossed over. Oliver Knight added ideas and hobnobs, made killer coffee and tried to work out how to make us sound alright. The word "Laylam" means "chorus”: a good reason to sing together in any setting. Often relating to birds...which we are. Join in then.’ - Eliza Carthy
CD in gatefold cardboard wallet sleeve.
1. Greasy Coat 4:11
2. Little Birds / Le Canal En Octobre 4:51
3. Walking After Midnight 3:27
4. Chickens In The Garden 3:31
5. Dewdrop 3:29
6. Wide River / Polly's Waltz 5:28
7. Why Don't You Do Right 2:40
8. Myrtle Tree 2:57
9. June Is The Coldest Month Of The Year 5:00
10. Sally Free And Easy 4:00
11. 100 Years 3:24
12. Better Home 5:02