Price: £19.99
Format: vinyl
Artist: Tracey Thorn
Availability: 02-03-2018
CatNo: ROAD011V
Record is Tracey Thorn’s first solo album of entirely original material for seven years. 

As ever the personal has often been political in Tracey Thorn’s work. Her voice, self-assured and richly-textured, yet confessional and affecting, spits out the lyrics on ‘Record’ with a fresh compelling drive and remains one of the finest female pop voices of the last four decades.

”I think I’ve always written songs which chronicle the milestones of a woman’s life.” she says. “Different ages and stages, different realities, not often discussed in pop lyrics. If 2010’s Love and Its Opposite was my mid-life album - full of divorce and hormones  - then ‘Record’ represents that sense of liberation that comes in the aftermath, from embarking on a whole new 'no fucks given' phase of life."

On Record, the synth-driven tracks arrive and leave with a punchy sub-three-minute directness. For all its no-fuss pop brevity, the album rotates around Sister, a dubby nine-minute Compass Point-style disco jam.

Across four decades Tracey’s songs and writing have offered up a clear-eyed woman’s view of the immediate world around her; from the acerbic teen love songs of her first early-eighties band Marine Girls, through sixteen years as one half of articulate multi-million-selling duo Everything But The Girl to her recent acclaimed memoirs and journalism.
LP in gatefold.
Side 1
1. Queen
2. Air (Feat. Shura)
3. Guitar
4. Smoke
Side 2
1. Sister (Feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
2. Go
3. Babies
4. Face
5. Dancefloor