Price: £10.00

Format: CD
Artist: Echo Engine
CatNo: BSF1001/12
Tags (click for related products):
Echo Engine Windjammer ambient Daniel Biro Theo Travis CD
Ambient grooves and soundscapes featuring Theo Travis sax/flute.
Echo Engine is an ambient/groove/electronica/improv trio formed by keyboardist Daniel Biro, groove-generator/sonic artist Adrian Newton and guitarist Rob Palme.
As well as being a stand-alone outfit, the idea behind Echo Engine was to allow for special guests to expand the trio's sonic palette. First on the list was sax/flute player Theo Travis, best known for his collaborations with Robert Fripp, David Sylvian, Steven Wilson and Soft Machine. His use of live electronic processors and loopers, to create swirling textures, was well suited to the band's soundscapey ethos. Two performances with Travis at the SoundCellar in Poole were recorded and provided the raw materials for this debut album Windjammer.
On this recording Echo Engine's experimental/psychedelic tendencies blend with Travis' layered lyricism, pushing the band into gentler, more melodic realms. Each track is named after a famous wind from a different part of the globe, with Travis' flute solo piece Aeolus paying tribute to the Greek god of winds.
CD in gatefold cardboard sleeve.


1. Bayamo  (8:23)
2. Xlokk  (9:43)
3. Pittarak  (6:39)
4. Abroholos  (7:14)
5. Vardar  (6:24)
6. Aeolus  (3:43)
7. Laawan  (7:54)
8. Kaver  (6:16)
9. Khamsin  (8:14)
Daniel Biro: keyboards
Adrian Newton: grooves and electronics
Rob Palmer: guitar
Theo Travis: saxes and flutes